Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windown logs of right after log in

• Please log in to reply

iLoveLucy

iLoveLucy

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
Hello everyone,

I'm sure this has been posted many times before but from all the forums I went to nothing could help me, so please bear with me. So what happens is that after I log in I can see my background picture (without the desktop icons nor the task bar) for a few seconds and then windows logs off by itself. I'm not very good with computers but I've managed to get a boot CD that lets me edit the registry and while on other forums I found different suggestion, my registry looks alright (from what was said on the different websites.) In the Winlogon tree I have the keys (if that's what you call them) Shell and Userinit. The data for Shell is "Explorer.exe" and for Userinit it's "C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe," both of which seem correct. What other keys should I look at to find my problem?

Also, it seems like spyware problems can cause this issue, and before my last normal restart an infected file was indeed repaired by some antivirus program so that might be a clue. However wih my very little knowlegde it looks like the registry is alright as I described so I'm lost.

The urgent thing is that I need to access a file on my computer, so if you guys have any suggestions I would be very glad to hear. Thanks a lot for any help, and I hope to get this problem solved soon.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Hello welcome to GeeksToGo, We will be happy to help you.