Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Bf2 freeze with 8600m GS and vista 64


  • Please log in to reply

#1
noob_mc_goob

noob_mc_goob

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
:)

All was well running BF2 on vista 64 bit using 8600m GS card...

Well I decided to do a clean install of vista from scratch so I reinstaled vista 64 , added sp1, updated all drivers to the latest from HP website , so basically the machine was the same config that it was before i decided to clean it up. Then I installed Bf2 and patched up to 1.41

But all was not well. I am now encountering the same problem as many have had over the years...

When I try to run BF2 I get a 30 - 45 second pause, where any sound that was happening continues, but screen freezes, at various times such as....


Initial game load up screen goes black for 30 seconds before intro starts.... and then freezes for about 30 seconds when I...

join game ,
quit the qame ,
escape to the options menu ,
change any control assigned keys in CONTROLS ,
and at the end of a round .

I had this problem a while ago but it was fixed by a hotfix that was then included in SP1. So it should work ok still. But it doesn't. Any ideas it's driving me nuts. Also when I alt tab away from BF2, you also get the freeze with a black screen for 20 or so seconds.....and back again



Thanks for any help in advance

Specs
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 4/15/2009, 17:13:59

Operating System: Windows Vista™ Ultimate (6.0, Build 6001) Service Pack 1 (6001.vistasp1_gdr.080917-1612)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP Pavilion dv9700 Notebook PC
BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
Processor: Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T9300 @ 2.50GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 4094MB RAM
Page File: 2470MB used, 5919MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 10
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000 64bit Unicode

------------


---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 8600M GS
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0425&SUBSYS_30CC103C&REV_A1
Display Memory: 2289 MB
Dedicated Memory: 497 MB
Shared Memory: 1791 MB
Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
Driver Name: nvd3dum,nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2um, nvwgf2umx.dll
Driver Version: 7.15.0011.7948 (English)
DDI Version: 10
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 1/30/2009 09:12:00, 5976064 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
-------------

Edited by starjax, 25 April 2009 - 09:33 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
Other than the title, i have no idea about your other machine specs, issues you may have or essential information required to assist. If you could please take a moment to further explain your issue, that would be greatly appreciated.
  • 0

#3
noob_mc_goob

noob_mc_goob

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
It was moved to another section I think. Thanks for looking at it

http://www.geekstogo...F2-t235692.html

Edited by noob_mc_goob, 25 April 2009 - 09:15 PM.

  • 0

#4
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
I would wait till the next patch from dice. 1.5 is in beta and includes additional vista 64 corrections.
  • 0

#5
noob_mc_goob

noob_mc_goob

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Just installed patch...same problem
  • 0

#6
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
patch is STILL beta.

do you have the link or hotfix number that helped you previously?
  • 0

#7
noob_mc_goob

noob_mc_goob

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
http://www.nvidia.co...a_hotfixes.html

thats all there remains..no help really
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP