Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

web page won't load hangs

• Please log in to reply

pscobb

pscobb

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
Hi this is my first time ever posting so please understand that I know just enough about computers to do harm. I too some classes at IUPUI. So here is my problem. When I access the internet either with firefox or IE it will open and with firefox it will rapidly give me the home page of goggle. When I try to access any pages it atempts but hangs. I have to keep refreshing or highlighting the address bar and hitting enter again. Sometimes this works others not.
OK What I have done so far

First I contacted AT&T was on the phone with them for over 4 hours no resolve we lost connections and they did not bother to call me back.
She did say that my Norton had expired and that could be the problem. So I wen't to my son's computer and burned the download fpr the Norton Removal tool and removed Norton.
Then I burned to DVD for AVG
I removed Norton and INstaled AVG -ran scan it found about 35 cookes and removed them.
Results: no change
Second I came here surfing and it said that I could have malware so I went through all the steps for malware removal. Side note I had to once again go to my son's computer to burn each thing to disc.
Results: it found that in my regestery I had adware popcap and removed it.
Still did not make a difference in my connections.