Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

CPU usage jumps to 90-100% for no apparent reason [Solved]

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

highland403

highland403

• PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
I have thought about wiping my system clean and reinstalling everything, but I have never done it before and that seems like such a daunting task. I am hoping it is something that can be fixed without starting over.

Edited by Extremeboy, 22 April 2009 - 04:04 PM.
Remove log file as per user's request.

Advertisements

Extremeboy

Extremeboy

Malware Removal Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 824 posts
Hello.

My name is Extremeboy (or EB for short), and I will be helping you with your log.

We apologize for the delay in responding to your request for help.

Please take note of some guidelines for this fix:
  • Refrain from making any changes to your computer including installing/uninstall programs, deleting files, modifying the registry, and running scanners or tools.
  • If you do not understand any step(s) provided, please do not hesitate to ask before continuing. I would much rather clarify instructions or explain them differently than have something important broken.
  • Even if things appear to be better, it might not mean we are finished. Please continue to follow my instructions and reply back until I give you the "all clean". We do not want to clean you part-way, only to have the system re-infect itself.