Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows Media Player Problems


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Grrr, ok then we will have to approach this a different way. First tho had you been able to rip before using WMP 11 and if so was there any other software installed and\or updated right before this issue started?
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
I do not believe so...There has got to be a way to remove WMP 11 and then reinstall it??!?!?
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I found this statement while researching your problme

"You can't because in Microsoft's "wisdom" they incorporated Media
Player into the operating system itself. So they only way to "fix" WMP
is to reinstall Vista or attempt to repair it. There is such a utility
on the Vista DVD. A less drastic step would be to try rolling back to
one of your restore points which may fix things."
Another option is to get a free third party ripping program from Here
I am researching to see if I can find a free ripping software for you also.
I found this one Here

Edited by rshaffer61, 18 April 2009 - 09:50 AM.

  • 0

#19
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Okay, but what is the name of the utility? Located on the Vista DVD? I do not want to reinstall Vista, this Laptop had to get fixed and wiped out once already because Toshiba installed defective RAM into my Laptop, and I had everything backed up but I do not want to go through that whole process again. Plus MS Office 2007 might not allow me to install it again because it has been used 2 times with these problems.

Edited by Ethan Bowen, 18 April 2009 - 09:48 AM.

  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Then with the software you have I would go to the third party program sI suggested in previous post.
Use WMP as your player and the other software to do the ripping
  • 0

#21
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
So there is nothing that can be done to fix this>
  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You can try this. This will check file system within windows and correct and corrupt or missing entries.


Go Start>Run ("Start Search" in Vista), type in:
sfc /scannow
Click OK (hit Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) will find any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc won't find any errors in Windows XP, it'll simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it here: http://www.flyupload.com/, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
(this applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc")
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start>Run, type in:
regedit
Click OK.

Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries (Values) on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive,(usually D:) and that is why it is asking for the XP CD. All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions

Edited by rshaffer61, 18 April 2009 - 10:05 AM.

  • 0

#23
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
For some reason the scan thing will not come up in Vista...
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
any error message?
  • 0

#25
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
No, but nothing came up on the screen to say it was scanning or something like that...I dont know, one problem after another???!?!?
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Did you type it like this?
sfc /scannow

note the space between c and /
  • 0

#27
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Yes Sir, I just copied and pasted it, if nothing comes up is that good for Vista or should have something came up?
  • 0

#28
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well a message should have appeared like this
"Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations"

Even if it didn't I am assuming it did not find any problems. That being the case then your OS and WMP is not having any issues. I personally believe that it's due to the DRM restrictions that Microsoft has embedded into WMP 11
I can only assume at this point that third party software is your only choice. I will ask another tech and see if they can look at this topic and maybe they can offer another suggestion that I do not know of.
  • 0

#29
Ethan Bowen

Ethan Bowen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Please do that, and see what they come up with and thanks for your help in this matter.
  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK sent request to a tech named Artellos. If he isn't busy he should be dropping in asap. I will also monitor to see what he offers. Thank you for being patient with this all :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP