Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

System Performance Dropped and weird goings on

• Please log in to reply

Phantom Mark

Phantom Mark

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi,

So my system is starting to show signs of a slowdown despite being well maintained and regularly defragged with O&O and Virus checked every day, the install is approximately 1 year old and is used every day for work and play for at least 8 - 14 hours, I am a games developer by trade hence the usage.

My main problems are as follows......

1) General system slowdown, programs appear to take much longer to launch now, especially games, its like the PC sits and does nothing after I click a shortcut, kinda just sits and thinks about it, in reality im wondering if its just taking ages to cache into the Ram ?

2) My toolbars and menus in general are no longer instant, unless cached into ram with a pre-emptive mouse over.

3) Right clicking on certain shortcuts causes explorer to crash, only way out is TM and End DR Watson as a process tree.

4) Copying, deleting, sometimes even just moving anything on the desktop, or sub folder on the desktop does not appear in real time, the only time you see the changes you made is when you right click and manually refresh the desktop.

These are the most annoying and most serious problems.