Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Blue Screen of Death


  • Please log in to reply

#1
roninuk1

roninuk1

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
Good Evening,

Earlier on at about 1800, I got this message with the dreaded BSoD;

STOP: 0x000007E (0xC000001D, 0xF3EDA094, 0xB973DA0C, 0xB973D708)

sthda.sys address F3EDA094
base at F3ED7000
datestamp 42a4c336

I didn't think much of it and just restarted the PC, then about 3 hours later (21:00) and again I got a BSoD with a different message;

0x0000008E (0xC0000005, 0x8054BFCB, 0xB946DDDC, 0x00000000)

again, I restarted and the PC loaded up fine, so I started a Norton 360 full scan, during the main virus scan (it had found 2 problems and fixed them) about halfway through, the BSoD appeared. I did not write down this message this time. I restarted and then came here to see if anybody could have an explanation for it.

Thank you in advance to anyone who maybe be able to shed light on this.

Simon
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The second error has to do with memory.

Let's check your memory and make sure. Download memtest86 from the link in my signature below.


Get the file that is named Download - The one you want is "Download - Pre-compiled Bootable ISO (.zip). When it downloads, it will be labeled memtest86+2.11.iso.zip
Unzip the file once you download it. You should have a .iso file in the unzipped directory. It will look like a zip file in some cases but the file name will now be memtest86+2.11.iso

if you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files get burncdcc in my signature below.

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....in this case its memtest86.iso
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

Make sure the bios is set for the cd drive as the first boot device
Put the cd in the cd drive and then boot your computer.

Running the Diagnostic Program:

The basic diagnostic screen has five main sections of relevant information. Three at the top which are labeled, PASS %, TEST %, and TEST #. This will basically show you the total progress of the current test, the overall progress of the diagnostic test, and the test number is currently performing.

On the middle left hand side of the of the program interface there is a “Wall Time” section that will keep track of how long the diagnostic test has been running for. This just gives you an idea if you are not attending the testing process.

The main section to look for is the lower half of the screen which is usually blank. As long as the memory testing is going ok with no errors this section of the screen should remain blank. If the diagnostic program finds any serious faults in the memory you will see it display a memory dump of address’s in this section. This is similar to what is displayed on your screen when you encounter a blue screen of death.

You now have most everything you need to know about setting up and testing your memory with diagnostic programs. This guide should help you get to the source of any intermittent problems related to your memory.


Run memtest for at least 2 hours
If it starts showing any errors during that time then you will have to replace the memory
If there are no errors after 2 hours press Esc and that will end the tests
We will then try other options
  • 0

#3
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Running memtest should clear memory as a possible problem; good suggestion shaffer.
Also go to the directory C:\Windows\Minidump
Make sure that hidden files are visible.
Zip up the .dmp files you see there, and attach it to your next reply.
  • 0

#4
roninuk1

roninuk1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
Thank you both, I am just about to reboot and start the test, I will reply as soon as it's done
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Thanks edge and we will await your results roninuk1 :)
  • 0

#6
roninuk1

roninuk1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
After running memtest for over 2 hours, it showed 7 passes and 33 errors. I have also attached the files from minidump.

As it is now pass 2am, I shall check back in the morning.

Thank you Shaffer & Edge

Simon
aka ronin

Attached Files


  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
At this point mini dumps won't shed any light as the memory is now the problem. I would suggest looking at replacing the memory asap
  • 0

#8
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
The first one pointed to Pool_Corruption (memory is bad)
The second pointed to sthda.sys http://www.file.net/.../sthda.sys.html
The third pointed to Pool_Corruption (bad memory again)

You have some serious memory issues.
I suggest Kingston memory, since it comes with a lifetime warranty. Corsair is good too.
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
:) To edge2022 :)
  • 0

#10
roninuk1

roninuk1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
Thank you Guys

Now, when you say memory, do you mean the Hard Drive or the RAM. Can you tell I don't know too much about PC's!!! :) :)

Simon
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
We meant RAM. You could buy it from Fry's. I like them b/c they sell hardware very cheap.
Tell me what make and model is your pc, so I can tell you what to buy.
Also provide an Everest Report. Click on "Everest Instructions" in my sig, and follow the steps.
  • 0

#12
roninuk1

roninuk1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
Dell Dimension 5150 is the make and model. (Wish I'd never brought a Dell now!!) I will be purchasing a new PC system within the next month or 2.

Report

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Report Wizard
Computer ANFIELD (Simon's PC)
Generator Simon Whiffin
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2009-04-26
Time 17:00


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name ANFIELD (Simon's PC)
User Name Simon Whiffin

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 630, 3000 MHz (15 x 200)
Motherboard Name Dell Dell DM051
Motherboard Chipset Intel Lakeport-G i945G
System Memory 1024 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (02/03/06)
Communication Port Sony Ericsson Device 916 USB WMC OBEX Interface (COM5)
Communication Port Sony Ericsson Device 916 USB WMC Device Management (COM6)

Display:
Video Adapter RADEON X300 SE 128MB HyperMemory Secondary (128 MB)
Video Adapter RADEON X300 SE 128MB HyperMemory (128 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Radeon X300 (RV370)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (FC99861P05DL)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel® 82801GB Serial ATA Storage Controllers - 27C0
IDE Controller Intel® 82801GB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
SCSI/RAID Controller SCSI/RAID Host Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive Maxtor 7L250S0 (232 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive Dell USB Mass Storage USB Device
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B
Optical Drive TSSTcorp DVD-ROM TS-H352C (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 233609 MB (116753 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network:
Network Adapter Intel® PRO/100 VE Network Connection (192.168.1.2)
Modem Intel® 537EP V9x DF PCI Modem
Modem Sony Ericsson Device 916 USB WMC Modem

Peripherals:
Printer Dell Photo AIO Printer 944
Printer Fax
Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
Printer QuickBooks PDF Converter
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - Enhanced USB2 Controller [A-1]
USB Device Dell Photo AIO Printer 944
USB Device Sony Ericsson Device 916 USB WMC Device Management (COM6)
USB Device Sony Ericsson Device 916 USB WMC Modem
USB Device Sony Ericsson Device 916 USB WMC OBEX Interface (COM5)
USB Device Sony Ericsson Device 916
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Mass Storage Device
USB Device USB Printing Support


--------[ Sensor ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sensor Properties:
Sensor Type HDD

Temperatures:
Maxtor 7L250S0 43 °C (109 °F)


Thank you Edge for you help

Simon
  • 0

#13
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
System Memory 1024 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SDRAM)
So you have 1 GB or RAM installed right now.

You have 4 Dimm RAM slots on your computer. The maximum memory for your motherboard is 4 GB. Take out the RAM from your computer, and then take it to a hardware store. If you don't know how then look here: http://www.associate...a_computer.html

They will tell you what RAM to buy, that will work with your motherboard. You would want an upgrade to 2GB. You might want to consider 4GB if you are doing cpu intensive tasks (photo, video editing or gaming).
  • 0

#14
roninuk1

roninuk1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
Thank you Edge for all your help and Thank you also Shaffer. I will get some more RAM and if it's ok I might not need to upgrade my PC.

I have another PC (My Nephew's) which also has a similar problem with BSoD, but I feel his one is much more serious as the PC will not even load windows, during the start up it goes to blue screen. I will do that memtest on it during the week.

Thanks again

Simon

Edited by roninuk1, 26 April 2009 - 10:59 AM.

  • 0

#15
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
You don't need to upgrade your RAM. If 1 GB is good enough for what you do on your pc, then it is fine.

EDIT: Ask you nephew to start a topic here. We should be able to sort out his problem.

Edited by edge2022, 26 April 2009 - 11:02 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP