Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building First Computer; Need Help.

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

JudgeJimmie

JudgeJimmie

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi, I am new to these forums, as I found it by a simple google search trying to find help with my First Computer Build. I am 18, and headed for college next year, and I want a nice desktop computer to go with my iBook G4, that I am using now.

I have some knowledge of computers, but I am very new to building them myself and the hardware required within them. What I would like to do is build a computer capable of running the Hackintosh mod. I am not even sure if this is possible, but I would than also like to be able to boot a Windows OS and a Linux distribution on the same PC as well. So it my ideal build will be Tri-boot with OSX, Windows, and Linux.

I would like the computer to be fairly powerful. I am going to Michigan Technological University and I would like my computer to be able to run engineering software easily. I also like to do 3D animating and video editing. I am not a huge PC gamer, as I prefer console, so the gaming side of the PC isn't really needed. However, I don't know how much more making the PC able to play games well would cost.