Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC Only B00ts in Safe Mode


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hello

Well my computer won't allow me to start up normally, When I try all it does is show the boot screen then it goes to a blank black screen when normally it would go to the log on screen.This always seem to happen whenever there is an power outage in my neiborhood and I have no idea why, When I start up in safe mode i'm able to get throught the boot screen and log on but it's only safe mode, How can I fix this and get my computer running normal again?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Murray S.

Murray S.

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Howdy and welcome to GTG:

As your system is booting up, tap the F8 key. That should get you to a set of boot options.

Choose "Last Known Good Configuration" and see how it goes.

Murray
  • 0

#3
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hi Murray Thank you

I just tried it and it just went to the xp logo screen and after it loaded it went blank again :)
It may have something to do with the BIOS.. It could have been reset when the power went out. I don't know what to do.

Edited by Kujati, 03 May 2009 - 11:42 AM.

  • 0

#4
Murray S.

Murray S.

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Okay.. boot into BIOS and click on the "default" setting.

Press F10 to save the changes and reboot.

Murray
  • 0

#5
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
:(I didn't see any options that read 'Default setting' but I did see 'Load Old Valuse' I'm guessing that's like the same thing? well I selected that option witch was F5 Then selected F10 to save and exit and after doing so I'm still getting getting the same result..Mybe I did it wrong?
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Reboot and go back into bios.
Post the options you have and we can walk you through each step as you go.
  • 0

#7
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hay^^

I'm useing my laptop so that I can communicate with you @ the same time.
Heres whats on my screen.

AMIBIOS Setup Version 1.21.12

Standard CMOS
Advance Setup
Power Management Setup
PCI/ PLug And Play Setup
Load Optimal Settings
Load Best Performance Settings

Features Setup
CPU PnP Setup
Hardware Monitor
Change Password
Exit

ESC: Quit ↑↓←: Select Item (Shift)F2: Change Color F5: Old Valuse
F5: Optimal Valuse F7: Best Performance Valuse F10: Save & Exit
  • 0

#8
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
select Load Optimal Settings...then F10 Save & Exit

Edited by happyrock, 03 May 2009 - 05:49 PM.

  • 0

#9
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Nothing happens...It still displays the boot screen and xp logo then all black screen even after rebooting into nomal mode.

Edited by Kujati, 03 May 2009 - 05:58 PM.

  • 0

#10
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
I find a way to boot my PC back into Normal mode :)
What i did was doot into safe mode and open "Device Manager" uninstall the video adapter driver then reboot into windows normal mode... now when windows start it says found new hardware.. Is that the video? If so do i just run the setup disk?
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
yep...just install the drivers for it...
  • 0

#12
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
I reinstalled the drivers and it asked me to restart windows, So I did and now I'm back to where I started T.T
I dont understand.
  • 0

#13
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
what is the make and model of your video card
  • 0

#14
Kujati

Kujati

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
ATI Graphics VisionTek Radeon HD 2400 PRO
  • 0

#15
Murray S.

Murray S.

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Which one ? PCI, PCI-E or AGP?

Murray
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP