Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer extremely slow, Freezing and shutting down


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Hi,

I just finished getting help in the removal of Malware forum. Everything was clean. The tech suggested I report my problem here. The problem seems to have gotten worse since I upgraded to Explorer 8 - could that be part of the problem? Hoping you can help me. Thanks.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
give us a link to your thread in the malware forum please...
use the add/remove programs in the control panel and uninstall IE 8...let us know if the speed returns...
  • 0

#3
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
http://www.geekstogo...ng-t237230.html

If I remove IE 8 - what do I install? Will it bring it back to the old version?
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
yep...it will just roll back to a previous version...
  • 0

#5
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
I don't know if it's because I want to believe it - but it actually seems quicker with IE 7. I also downloaded iE 7 pro - is that ok?
  • 0

#6
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Well it was wishful thinking! It was froze solid this morning. I had to shut it down and reboot?
  • 0

#7
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
I need to know..does it still take 20 minutes to boot...please write down how long it takes to boot...don't guess...
go to add/remove programs and uninstall Spyware guard...

click on start...run...type in MSCONFIG...press enter...click on start tab...
on a desktop you uncheck everything EXCEPT your ANTI VIRUS and firewall...on a laptop you have to be more selective or your touchpad ...wireless and things like that won't work...you will have to google each one and then decide what you can get rid of in the start up section....
reboot ...please write down how long it takes to boot....
then
these tweaks will speed you up some...
turn off indexing...click ...START...MY COMPUTER...right click on the hard

drive...properties..uncheck allow indexing and compress drive...then click on OK...when it asks
about subfolders say YES...it will take a little while to finish...

go to add/remove programs and get rid of anything you don't want or use

To clean your temp folder, recycle bin, etc..please download this free tool...

CCleaner

Don't install any Toolbars, or other programs, should it ask you! Just
uncheck the option of installing the Yahoo toolbar....if you get the slim version it does not have the toolbar thats the one I recommend...
It will put a shortcut on your Desktop.

Before first use...
Select Options then Advanced.
UNCHECK "Only delete files in Windows Temp folder older than 48 hours"
The rest of the standard settings are fine...

Click on CCleaner to start it. Then click "Run Cleaner"

DO NOT USE ANY OF THE OTHER TOOLS...RUNNING THEM MAY CAUSE OTHER PROBLEMS

reboot...again please write down how long it takes to boot....play with the system for a little while...does it feel faster
in your next reply please give me the 3 different boot times....
  • 0

#8
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
It took exactly 35 minutes to load. I had a windows update today and now after it loaded back up it's back to IE 8???

I haven't done anything else that you told me to do yet. Do I re- uninstall IE 8 before doing everything else?

Edited by Mrsmoose, 05 May 2009 - 04:54 PM.

  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
To re-enable the typical, or faster UDMA transfer mode for an affected drive...
right click my computer... and then click properties...hardware tab
then click Device Manager....
click on the + beside IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers....
Double-click the controller for which you want to restore the typical DMA transfer mode....do this to both the primary and secondary
Click the Driver tab.
Click Uninstall.
restart your computer. When Windows restarts, the hard disk controller is reset and the transfer mode is reset to the default value for each device that is connected to the controller.
reboot...now how long does it takes to boot ...
no improvement go here and get HDTune...launch it and click on info...what is the active transfer speed...also benchmark the drive

Edited by happyrock, 05 May 2009 - 05:08 PM.

  • 0

#10
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
There is 2 of each - The Intel 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers (underneath is the same) Intel 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers-24B. Underneath you have the Primary IDE Channel (twice) and then followed by Secondary IDE Channel (twice)?????
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
uninstall the Primary IDE Channel (twice) and then followed by Secondary IDE Channels
  • 0

#12
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Before I go ahead and do anything else I just want to make sure I explained myself clearly. I'm no IT tech but from your instructions, I think you might have understood that it takes all this time to just boot up my machine when actually I'm talking about my Explorer? Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I've already done the step below - it took 16 minutes for my Explorer to open but will wait for you confirmation to continue with the rest.

click on start...run...type in MSCONFIG...press enter...click on start tab...
on a desktop you uncheck everything EXCEPT your ANTI VIRUS and firewall...on a laptop you have to be more selective or your touchpad ...wireless and things like that won't work...you will have to google each one and then decide what you can get rid of in the start up section....
reboot ...please write down how long it takes to boot....

Edited by Mrsmoose, 05 May 2009 - 07:43 PM.

  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer?
  • 0

#14
Mrsmoose

Mrsmoose

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Internet Explorer

Edited by Mrsmoose, 05 May 2009 - 07:44 PM.

  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK now that may make a difference in the approach. I suggest you download Firefox from my signature below. Install and run it. If the problem is not happening there then it's most likely a IE problem.

Also what version of IE are you using?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP