Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

IE 8 Slow When Clicked...


  • Please log in to reply

#1
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
Hello. I just installed IE 8. When I click on my IE icon, it takes about 10 second for it to come up. Then when it does, it's only partial and a lot greyed out. Then it loads and everthing is OK. Any suggestions on how to speed this up? Thanks...

smittyd
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Did this happen with IE7?
Go to Start -> Run -> iexplore -extoff

Edited by edge2022, 07 May 2009 - 06:52 PM.

  • 0

#3
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
I went from IE 6 to IE 8. I'm not sure what you are taking about "extoff". But I think I remember something that came up that stated something like that. I have sent Google to open when I initiate IE. This may be the problem. If you could explain alittle more about it and what to do. Thanks...
  • 0

#4
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
http://www.killertec...without-addons/
I am trying to see if an addon is causing the startup issue here. Look at that article and follow the instructions. Google as the home page wouldn't cause those problems.

Try using Chrome. You might like it more that IE.
http://www.google.com/chrome
  • 0

#5
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
I understand what you are saying now. I tried without the addons but still the same. I do notice a lot of CPU usage whiles it's trying to load.
  • 0

#6
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
Also, can you check my "HiJackThis" and see if you see anything out of the ordinary? Thanks...


Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.0 (BETA)
Scan saved at 8:39:36 PM, on 5/7/2009
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgwdsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgrsx.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgnsx.exe
C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgcsrvx.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgtray.exe
C:\Program Files\YourWare Solutions\FreeRAM XP Pro\FreeRAM XP Pro.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Lackey\My Documents\Anti Spyware\A - HiJackThis - v2.exe

R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft....k/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft....k/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft....k/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft....k/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName = Favorites
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: WormRadar.com IESiteBlocker.NavFilter - {3CA2F312-6F6E-4B53-A66E-4E65E497C8C0} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgssie.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Dictionary Compression sdch - {C84D72FE-E17D-4195-BB24-76C02E2E7C4E} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\Component\fastsearch_A8904FB862BD9564.dll
O2 - BHO: EpsonToolBandKicker Class - {E99421FB-68DD-40F0-B4AC-B7027CAE2F1A} - C:\Program Files\EPSON\EPSON Web-To-Page\EPSON Web-To-Page.dll
O3 - Toolbar: EPSON Web-To-Page - {EE5D279F-081B-4404-994D-C6B60AAEBA6D} - C:\Program Files\EPSON\EPSON Web-To-Page\EPSON Web-To-Page.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] "C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ZoneAlarm Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Alcmtr] ALCMTR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG8_TRAY] C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgtray.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [FreeRAM XP] "C:\Program Files\YourWare Solutions\FreeRAM XP Pro\FreeRAM XP Pro.exe" -win
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.ameritrade.com
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.setxsports.com
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.tdameritrade.com
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{E802E686-0E84-4D6C-B8C5-AE7AFEB663B5}: NameServer = 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220
O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: NameServer = 24.93.41.127 24.93.41.128
O17 - HKLM\System\CS2\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: NameServer = 24.93.41.127 24.93.41.128
O17 - HKLM\System\CS3\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: NameServer = 24.93.41.127 24.93.41.128
O17 - HKLM\System\CS4\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: NameServer = 24.93.41.127 24.93.41.128
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: NameServer = 24.93.41.127 24.93.41.128
O18 - Protocol: linkscanner - {F274614C-63F8-47D5-A4D1-FBDDE494F8D1} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgpp.dll
O18 - Filter: x-sdch - {B1759355-3EEC-4C1E-B0F1-B719FE26E377} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\Component\fastsearch_A8904FB862BD9564.dll
O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
O20 - Winlogon Notify: avgrsstarter - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\avgrsstx.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
O23 - Service: Ad-Aware 2007 Service (aawservice) - Lavasoft - C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007\aawservice.exe
O23 - Service: AVG Free8 WatchDog (avg8wd) - AVG Technologies CZ, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgwdsvc.exe
O23 - Service: InCD Helper (InCDsrv) - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
O23 - Service: InCD Helper (read only) (InCDsrvR) - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: PC Tools Auxiliary Service (sdAuxService) - PC Tools - C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\pctsAuxs.exe
O23 - Service: PC Tools Security Service (sdCoreService) - PC Tools - C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\pctsSvc.exe
O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Check Point Software Technologies LTD - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe

--
End of file - 6177 bytes
  • 0

#7
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
If you suspect that this issue is malware related, then follow this guide: http://www.geekstogo...uide-t2852.html
Then post the required logs on the Malware Forum. I am not experienced enough to provide you with malware advice.

The CPU usage while it's loading is normal. Did you try Chrome? Was IE6 opening faster?
  • 0

#8
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
Ok, I'll go to the Malware section. I have not tried chrome yet. But I did notice that there are two iexpore.exe's loading up, instead of one, sucking down a bunch of cpu. Now, I have not notice this before. Did I do something wrong when I load IE 8? Any thought?
  • 0

#9
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Once IE is fully loaded, does one process close, so that you only have 1 iexplore.exe running? Does this happen when you run IE without addons?
Was IE6 opening faster?
http://www.atribune....c...5&Itemid=25
Download ATF Cleaner and run it according to the instructions on the website.
  • 0

#10
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
When loaded, both process' stay engaged. I do not lose one. This also happens when I open IE without addons.
I don't remember if it did this with IE6. But I don't think it did.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Not meaning to step in but have you tried Firefox to see if it is IE or it's a system problem?
  • 0

#12
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Good advice rshaffer. I suggest he tried Chrome, as it is now my favorite browser over Firefox.

Try using Firefox or Chrome.
http://www.mozilla.c...ox/firefox.html

EDIT:

Your computer is infected by DNS Changer trojan.

Broni, how did you figure that out?

Edited by edge2022, 07 May 2009 - 10:59 PM.

  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
This would at least tell us if IE is indeed the culprit or the system has a problem. Even if there is no reason to believe a infection is present I suggest you go through the Malware Forum just to give yourself a sense of calmness. :)
  • 0

#14
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Your computer is infected by DNS Changer trojan.
Proceed to Malware forum.
  • 0

#15
smittyd

smittyd

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
I think the problem is with: "IE7pro + IE8 + Loosely Coupled IE (LCIE)." I went in and tweaked my registry and now only one iexplore.exe runs in the process. It is my understanding that there is a problem with the IE7 part loading, or something along these lines. Again, thanks.

Edited by smittyd, 07 May 2009 - 11:47 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP