Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

HELP!--Newly Erased Drives Won't Boot

• Please log in to reply

NADC

NADC

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi,

This is my first time posting, and I hope you all can help me out.

I just bought a refurbished computer (Dell Precision 670, Dual 3.2ghz 2gb DVD/+RW 2x73gb SATA) and the disks were wiped clean.

I'm trying to install my win xp sp2 operating system.

The problem is that the system starts to boot, it seems to recognize that the two drives are there initially, then in halts and states that there are "no boot devices available".

I'm assuming the disks need to be formatted and partitioned. I formatted both drives, but that didn't help.

I've tried to load the XP cd, and after it goes through it's initial setup and asks if I want to install XP, it states that there are no drives.

I'm know I need to set up the drives / raid / and/or controllers. But this is my first time venturing through this neck of the woods.

I've worked on my own computers over the past 15+ years, but this is all new to me.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I can't get in touch with the company that sold the computer till Monday, and I'd really like to get this up and running before then.

Thanks,

NADC

"Few things are more dangerous then teaching our children to be mediocre...banks are one of them."

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Did you change the boot sequence in the bios to see the cdrom first?

123Runner

123Runner

Member 4k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,527 posts