Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Question about dual booting with Asus P5Q-E.

• Please log in to reply

jst42day

jst42day

• PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
I have a home brew pc with an E4600 cpu, 4 G's of RAM and an Asus P5Q-E motherboard.
I've been using XP Pro w/SP3 for a few years. It's installed on a 1 T. WD Black Edition hard drive.
On May 5th I downloaded and installed Windows 7 on a WD 640 G hard drive.

I put the W7 drive in the pc and following some instructions I found online, I enter the BIOS by pressing 'DEL' when I start the pc.
I'm supposed to be able to choose the drive I want to boot from.
But that's not happening.

When I enter the BIOS, I go to the main screen where I only see my DVD and one of the hard drives.
If I arrow over to the Boot section and select Boot order (or something like that) I can see both hard drives.
If I arrow down to the one with Xp on it and select it and save and close, I still wind up booting into W7.

I just removed the W7 SATA connector from the mobo to be able to boot into XP. I got a screen saying that something had happened and I chose start normally which got me into XP.
I'm lost at this point.
I'm sure I'm doing something wrong in the BIOS but I don't know what.
I'm not tech inclined but can follow directions pretty well.
Thanks in advance for any help.
jst42day

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts