Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Dell Dimension won't boot up

• Please log in to reply

leanhk

leanhk

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello!

I have a Dell Dimension 8400 (several years old) and today it stopped booting up. It's used in my classroom (I'm a teacher) and one of my students brought it to my attention. He said he accidently turned it off, and now it won't boot back up. I tried running diagnostics on it by pushing F12. Here are my results:

Drive 0: WD800JD-75LSA0 - Pass
Drive 1: No device
Drive 2: No device
Drive 3: No device
Drive 4: GCR-8483B - Diagnostics not supported
Drive 5: Samsung CD-R/RW SW-252S - Diagnostics not supported.

The LED lights on the back (listed A B C D) are all lit green, leading me to think it's not the hard drive (I guess?)

It will not get pass the loading "Dell" screen when I hit "start windows normally"

When I try to boot in SAFE MODE or SAFE MODE WITH CMD PROMPT, a long list appears in black and white and it goes no further. The first item on the list looks like this:

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows\system32\DRIVERS\ohci1394.sys

all the other lines that follow it say the same thing until the last section that i bolded

I even tried inserting an XP reinstallation CD but nothing happened.

What should I do??

Thank you so much for reading this!

Advertisements

Broni

Broni

Kraków my love :)

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Try repair: http://www.geekstogo...ws-XP-t138.html