Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Freezes after 10 minutes or so


  • Please log in to reply

#1
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
In Windows XP, the computer works OK when first started but after about 10 or 15 minutes, it partially freezes. This may (or may not) be Limewire related as I was attempting unsuccessfully to connect to Limewire right around the time when things stopped working right.

The partially freeze goes like this: Mouse still works normally. Internet programs freeze. Attempts to open new programs will show hourglass for 20 seconds or so and then nothing. Attempts to shutdown normally go> Start >Turn off computer> hourglass indefinitely.

What I've tried already (with no effect): Uninstalled Limewire. Used System Restore to go back a few days before problem arose. Disk Cleanup. Delete Temp Internet files. Ran AdAware, Spybot, F-Prot, Windows Defender. Swore (more than once). Nothing is having any effect.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
GTG cannot help with Limewire per our Terms Of Use rules except for the removal of it.

Download and install EVEREST
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.


PLEASE DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"

Edited by rshaffer61, 15 May 2009 - 02:18 PM.

  • 0

#3
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
Here's the Everest Report:

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer DELL2005
Generator Greg
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2009-05-15
Time 16:52


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name DELL2005
User Name Greg

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 630, 3000 MHz (15 x 200)
Motherboard Name Dell Dell DM051
Motherboard Chipset Intel Lakeport-G i945G
System Memory 1024 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (10/13/05)

Display:
Video Adapter RADEON X300 SE 128MB HyperMemory Secondary (128 MB)
Video Adapter RADEON X300 SE 128MB HyperMemory (128 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Radeon X300 (RV370)
Monitor Dell E173FP [17" LCD] (6418059N17NK)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel® 82801GB Serial ATA Storage Controllers - 27C0
IDE Controller Intel® 82801GB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive ST3160828AS (149 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8701
Optical Drive TSSTcorp DVD-ROM TS-H352C (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 149456 MB (39826 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network:
Network Adapter Intel® PRO/100 VE Network Connection (192.168.0.197)

Peripherals:
Printer hp psc 1310 series
Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - Enhanced USB2 Controller [A-1]
USB Device hp psc 1310 series (DOT4USB)
USB Device hp psc 1310 series
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Printing Support


--------[ Debug - PCI ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If you downloaded anything you may have a infection.
Was there any upgrades be it software or hardware done to the system just prior to the issue starting?
Anything downloaded from internet before issue?
Any error messages prior to issue?

Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.


If this does not work then:

Go to:
Start and then My Computer
Right Click On "C" drive and then click on Properties
Click on Tools tab at the top
In the Error Checking field click Check Now


When that is done

Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged



Reboot and let me know how system is running now
  • 0

#5
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
OK
Ran the ATF Cleaner for both regular and Firefox.
Did the Error Checking and it ran Phase 1 OK, then ran through Phase 2 but right at the end when the progress bar was completed, it said " Windows was unable to complete the disk check".
Also ran the Auglogics Defrag sucessfully.
The problem still exists.
When it freezes, I have to shut down manually and restart.
??
  • 0

#6
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
The Windows Indexing Service usually causes problems just like this.
Go here: http://lifehacker.co...s-xp-031440.php
Follow the steps.

Since you mention Limewire, infection could also be possible.

Did the Error Checking and it ran Phase 1 OK, then ran through Phase 2 but right at the end when the progress bar was completed, it said " Windows was unable to complete the disk check".

Did Windows ask if it could complete the check at next startup? If so allow Windows to, and reboot.
Otherwise click on "Recovery Console Instructions" in my sig to burn a boot disc. Then boot from that disc, go into the Windows Recovery Console, and give the command:

chkdsk /r

This will take a while to run (could be run over-night) and has 5 stages. DO NOT interrupt this process. Doing so could risk the integrity of the file system.
  • 0

#7
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Download, and install SpeedFan: http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php
Post your computer temperatures:

Posted Image

Provide processor info (hold Windows logo key, and hit Pause/Break key to find out).

Monitor temperatures closely, especially, when approaching 10 minutes mark.
  • 0

#8
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
I ran the lifehacker thing and later was successful with the "Error checking". The program ran to completion.

Also installed SpeedFan and it's showing "HDO: 38C" which I'm assuming is OK. The last time the computer froze, SpeedFan was showing HDO: 36C" so I'm thinking it's not an overheating issue.

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I really need to fix this problem.

Thanks
  • 0

#9
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Does SpeedFan show only ONE temperature reading?
  • 0

#10
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Try getting the sensor inputs from Everest too.
Open Everest, go to Report and then Custom Report. Then under Computer check only Sensor. Uncheck everything else.
Click next and choose Plain Text, and then copy and paste the report Everest gives you.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Does SpeedFan show only ONE temperature reading?


Yes, there's only one showing. There's a blue downward pointing arrow with HDO: 38C beside it and it's in the larger box on the right side.
  • 0

#12
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts

Try getting the sensor inputs from Everest too.


  • 0

#13
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
Here's the Everest Report (without all the stuff at the bottom)

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Report Wizard
Computer DELL2005
Generator Greg
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2009-05-16
Time 08:25


--------[ Sensor ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sensor Properties:
Sensor Type HDD

Temperatures:
Seagate ST3160828AS 24 °C (75 °F)


--------[ Debug - PCI ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • 0

#14
GWats

GWats

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
There is one other thing that just came to mind that might be related to the problem. Around the time that things went sour, I was trying to load some music on my son's mp3 player (Coby MP605-4G). I ran an anti-virus to check for problems and I think there was one thing found, a music file, which I had removed, although the problem continued.
  • 0

#15
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
So, it looks like we won't find any CPU temperature sensors readings....
When was the last time, you cleaned the computer inside?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP