Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Unplugged Cable Problem

• Please log in to reply

wintershade

wintershade

• Pip
  • 6 posts
I'm not a networking expert, so I'll try to explain what I can. I've googled some similar problems and haven't been able to find a solution that has worked.

I have windows Vista. My computer is about 3 months old. I was on the internet one night, went to bed, then the next morning I couldn't find a connection. I use a hardline connection for this PC because I do my banking on it. I noticed my Firefox and Opera were set to Offline mode. Then when I tried to go to any website it displayed the ....cannot connect to network because cable is unplugged....message. My cables are plugged in. I tried getting a new cable and replacing it. I tried the "self-ping" test to see if my card was no longer working. Everything seems okay. I've messed around with things I've read and now I keep getting this "connect broadband connection" box that comes up every time i try to load a page.

I've tried the vista diagnostic test that it gives me the option for and all of the other connection wizard stuff. Nothing works. I have no idea what to do except reinstall windows. And I'd like to know how to fix it so this doesn't become a monthly re-occurrence.

Anybody know what's going on?

Advertisements

wintershade

wintershade

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts