Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

How to enable Ethernet Card in Red Hat 9

• Please log in to reply

Mobi

Mobi

• PipPip
  • 52 posts
Hi guyz,

Hope you are all fine and doing well. I need help for enabling Ethernet card in Red Hat 9.
I am new to this LINUX platform so I am feeling little lost. Basically I have two PCs both are connected to a hub/switch. I am running Win XP on one system and on the other I have installed Red Hat 9. I want to enable network access in the Red Hat just like in Xp so I can ping the machines and also access internet.

I have wifi internet connection, the wireless device is also connected to the switch and the XP system get the IP address from the DHCP which is 192.168.75.15.

I have tried the following command on the Linux
Ifconfig to check the status of NIC  which showed the IP is 127.0.0.1
Ifconfig eth0 up to
Then I used Ifconfig eth0 192.168.75.16
But when I run the ifconfig command to check the status of the NIC and IP address I see local loop i.e. 127.0.0.1 even running the ifconfig eth0 192.168.75.16.

Please help me out how can I assign the IP address so that I can access and ping both the system LINUX and XP from each other.

I will be thankful to you for your help

Advertisements

Aravind Kumar

Aravind Kumar

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi guyz,

Hope you are all fine and doing well. I need help for enabling Ethernet card in Red Hat 9.