Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Laptop is stuck at boot logo

• Please log in to reply

Novaprospekt

Novaprospekt

• PipPip
  • 66 posts
Hi everyone

I'm a pretty tech savvy guy but I've hit a wall with this one. I downloaded Win7 RC and burned the .iso. I popped it into my laptop, booted from CD.

I deleted all the current partitions (data was backed up) and began installing. The install failed at expanding files and said all changes and progress were lost and I pressed the power button to reboot.

Now the laptop just sits at the boot logo and doesn't do anything. I have the option to go into setup (F2), go to boot selection (F11) and network boot (F12). F11 and F12 don't do anything, and when I press F2 for setup, the options change to "please wait" and it just hangs there. If I do nothing, it just hangs anyway and at any time I can press the F2 to get it to "please wait" (it doesn't freeze after any amount of time technically, it's just stuck.

I can't boot from any CD because under no circumstances I've tried thus far can I get past the logo to even try and boot from a repair disk. I suspect something with the Master Boot Record but I can't get anywhere to even diagnose the problem and it's outside of my scope of knowledge at this point.

The laptop is an alienware m9750 (so if anyone's familiar, it hangs at the alien head logo)
intel core 2 2.0ghz
2GB ram
160GB HD
nvidia m7950 gtx

If anyone has any ideas I would really appreciate it. I have no idea what to do with a stuck bios.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61