Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New Hard drive


  • Please log in to reply

#1
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
My hard drive has been crashing and filled with viruses. I need a new one. Where is the best place to get it changed? How?
I want them to replace it for me.
thanks
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is it crashing because of the viruses or is it due to mechanical failure?
What capacity is it and what capacity would you like to replace it with?
If you feel the problem is due to infections:

I suggest you go to the Malware Forum and run all the steps located in the START HERE. These self-help tools will help you clean up 70% of problems on your own. If you are still having problems after doing the steps, then please post the reguested logs in THAT forum. If you are unable to run any of the tools then start a new topic in the malware forum and put this in the subject line...I am unable to run any malware tools

If you are still having problems after being given a clean bill of health from the malware expert, then please return to THIS thread and we will pursue other options to help you solve your current problem(s).
  • 0

#3
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
I dont know
this is new to me
i would like it changed
where is the best place to do it?
i believe the capacity is 55GB or something
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I will need some info to help you out.
Make and model of your system
Memory total
OS System
Is the system running now?
Can you download and run programs as i can have you run a report that can give em the info and then do some looking around to make sure I give you the correct information.
Most important is i need the make and Model of your system if it is a name brand.
  • 0

#5
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
Two computers please
laptop: HP Pavillion entertainment notebook.. vista
desktop: Dell Dimension 8300... xp (running low)
thanks

Edited by nicolecolgate, 04 June 2009 - 08:37 PM.

  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Which one is the problem system?
  • 0

#7
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
both
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If these are both suspected of being infected i suggest you follow my instructions in post #2 and go through the malware removal process. After doing the tutorial and you are still having problems then post the required logs and wait for a technician to assist you.
Once they have you healthy again then return here and we can continue with finding you a replacement drive if you still desire to do that.

Edited by rshaffer61, 05 June 2009 - 07:21 AM.

  • 0

#9
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
i currently desire to change my hard drives
how?
thanks
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
desktop: Dell Dimension 8300... xp

Do you know if your current HD is IDE or Sata?
Without knowing i am supplying a link to a IDE drive Here Since I'm figuring the 55 gig drive you referenced is in this system then the drives I'm suggesting are almost triple that size in capacity.

The HP Pavillion entertainment notebook
I need the actual model number to check the specs on it and see what it is capable of handling as far as a HD for you.
  • 0

#11
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
How do I know if it is ide or sata?
hp pavilion dv 64 33 cl
thanks

for the desktop, when i change the hardrive, how can i install the OS, drivers, software, etc? my warranty is finished. I remeber I reformated the hard drive on the desktop before, but I had my warranty then so I was able to talk to a technician to walk me through it. I dont know what to do now.

Edited by nicolecolgate, 05 June 2009 - 03:30 PM.

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

plus another one said Googleupdate.exe application error and same sort of message as above

Do you have the original recovery cd for your desktop? i need you to download the following program onto the Dell and run it. please follow the instructions to supply the resulting log in your next reply.

Download and install EVEREST
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#13
nicolecolgate

nicolecolgate

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
just curious, what does this everest program log show?
what if i dont have the original recovery cd?
thanks
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If no cd then how would you install OS system? Do you have the Windows Registration number?

Everest will tell me the type of hard drive
The Capacity of Hard Drive
The Memory total
Motherboard name and model
It lets us research the specs and helps to make finding drivers

Edited by rshaffer61, 05 June 2009 - 05:17 PM.

  • 0

#15
oberlisc

oberlisc

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
Which Country do you live in, basiclly as i read it you dont want to do the work yourself you want to pay someone to do it, thats were your price's can rocket, if you have no OS disc or system recovery then your looking at Buying new HDD, Fitting price, Some may charge you for having to find Drivers for your system, if your machines have legitimate Activation stickers (CD key) then they can install using their own copy of your OS (they will charge for this) depending on HDD size you could be looking at £100 each machine, find a computer shop and try doing a deal but dont go to PC World Tech Guys.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP