Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Setting Up Home Theater On My PC

• Please log in to reply

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
Hey Guys,

I just built a computer, and I want to hook up my home theater to it. I have never done that before on a PC. I'm a little confused as to which is the best way. I'd like to have the full 5.1 Surround Sound. Here is my Philips Stereo so you can see the connectors on back.

Here is my motherboard so you know what the connections you have there. EVGA X58 3X SLI

Can I use SPDIF? I don't even know what the heck that is :) I'd like to hear what any of you have to say. I'm not sure what connectors I can use and what types of connections have converters. i.e. DVI to VGA Remember, I want 5.1 sound if I can.

Thanks,

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP
I see nothing on the back of your receiver to indicate it will support 5.1. Looks like you are out of luck. You can come out of your motherboard and go to the line in of your receiver.

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
:)

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
Is a spdif connection just an RCA cable? They look identical and from what I read I can't tell the difference really. Can you help? I think that is my best bet.

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP