Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Buying a new laptop, need suggestions!

• Please log in to reply

mpascal

mpascal

Math Nerd

• Retired Staff
  • 3,644 posts
Hey all, I'm new to the whole laptop buying scene so bear with me.

Anyways I need a new laptop for university in September and I'm looking for suggestions. What I'm looking for is a pretty powerful machine, my budget is around $2000-$2500. I won't really be playing many games, so a powerful video card really isn't needed. I'm in computer science so I'll be using the computer quite alot to do school work, as well as random computer stuff on my own time. I also wouldn't mind having a Windows/Linux dual boot setup. Any suggestions? Apparently Macbook Pro is the new university laptop, but I want to know all my options. In a nutshell:
  • Fast CPU
  • Lots of RAM
  • Big HDD (500GB +)
  • Decent video card
Thanks Guys!

-mp

Edited by mpascal, 10 June 2009 - 03:40 PM.

Advertisements

sulobaid

sulobaid

• PipPip
  • 34 posts
well hey i got an HP DV5Z 4GB RAM 220GB hardrive (though im sure you could get a bigger one) and a 512MB vid card and a 2.3GHZ AMD processor. this laptop runs great for me, nice and smooth. personally i wouldnt go with dell because they overcharge or CyberpowerPC (if you ever heard of them) their laptops are truly brittle construction. only really good advise i could give you is get at least a 2yr warrenty that covers all accidents (ive got a three year), other then that and saying i like HP there are others who can give better tech advise

sulo

PedroDaGR8