Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

OS Won't Boot

• Please log in to reply

cheatah

cheatah

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi all i'm new to geeks to go so if i do anything wrong in this post just let me know!

History

> Reinstalled COD4 after a dodgy uninstall (used program manager to remove, but still ran all features until game play :S) Hard deleted any files remaining, then reinstalled.

> upon install completion, an error reading something along the lines of 'some windows files have been altered or replaced with unauthorised versions, please insert Windows XP SP3 disk' - it wouldn't accept my SP2 disk, and seeing that i had 10 updates decided to shut down the PC, let them install and call it a night.

> unfortunately the following morning i awoke to find the PC wouldnt boot at all, instead an error message appeared on a blank screen reading "lsass.exe unable to locate component.......failed to start because LSASRV.dll not found...."

> There was no following message box, only a blank screen.

> Rebooting to safe mode, same error box, same following blank screen.

> Have tried booting from XP disk, same error message, same blank screen.

Is there any way i can avoid a reformat here? i could probably find a spare pc to plug this HDD into if it helps.

(additional info: Running XP home SP3, on a home build desktop. No recovery Partition.)

Thanks in advance to anyone who can shed some light

Cheatah

Advertisements

diabillic

diabillic

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
LSASRV.dll is a Windows system dll thats required by lsass.exe