Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

No audio


  • Please log in to reply

#1
tyro2

tyro2

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Yesterday I inadvertently uninstalled Realtek High Definition Audio thinking that it was an unwanted program. Now I have no audio. My question is: How do I reinstall it. Did it come with XP or what? Everything I see on line only talks to updating drivers for it but I uninstalled the driver AND the program.

Help please. :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
OpenOutcome

OpenOutcome

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 640 posts
To reinstall, go here. Choose "I accept to the above". You'll probably want "Windows 2000, Windows XP/2003(32/64 bits) Driver only (Executable file)". Download from Site 1, 2, or 3. Run the program when downloaded and install.

Hope this helps!

-Jason
  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Reason for edit:
Duplicated

Edited by rshaffer61, 12 June 2009 - 07:16 AM.

  • 0

#4
tyro2

tyro2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Thanks for the feedback. I attempted your fix but the install failed... error code 0xE0000227. ???
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
This if from a post before that i found. I hope this works for you.



Go to Device Manager then click on + sign next to Device Drivers

Scroll down to and then right click and Disable Microsoft UAA bus driver
Next right click again and Uninstall UAA bus driver

Install Realtek HD driver and it should now work.

Edited by rshaffer61, 12 June 2009 - 07:46 PM.

  • 0

#6
tyro2

tyro2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
That did it, many thanks. I did notice that I had (2) entries for the UAA bus drivers and I had to delete both instances. Deleting just one didn't work. I checked the device manager afterwards and notice that I again have (2).

Anyway, thanks again. No sound sucks.
  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Everything now working and you get noise out of the system correctly now?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP