Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer freezing unless in safe mode


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Let's try this and see what we can find. please do the following in order and let me know what the results are after each phase is complete.





Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.


If this does not work then:

Go to:
Start and then My Computer
Right Click On "C" drive and then click on Properties
Click on Tools tab at the top
In the Error Checking field click Check Now


When that is done

Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged


After this is finished please:

Lets see what you have in your startup
Please click on
Start and then on Run
Type in msconfig and then press enter
Now click on Startup
Next click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start
All Programs
Accessories
Paint
In the empty white area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your desktop

In your next reply attach the screenshot. If the file is to large then go to HERE and register. Upload the file and then post the link to the file.



Reboot and let me know how system is running now
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Thank you so much for your help thus far.

Posted Image

Edited a little to show the whole list of tasks.

I did the cleanup thing, and running defrag now.
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hmm interesting. This may take some speed on your part then.
If you can get into windows and get into Msconfig in Normal Mode
I need you to uncheck everything but what you are showing in the above picture.
Save it and it will reboot. See if that will then allow you to stay in normal mode without freezing.
If so then you have a startup problem.
When Defrag is done then please do the Msconfig again but this time go into the Services Tab
Click the little box that says Hide All Microsoft Services
Then take another screenshot and include it with your next reply.

BTW I wanted to say good job with following the instructions. You are doing great :)

Edited by rshaffer61, 12 June 2009 - 09:38 PM.

  • 0

#19
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please post your results and any questions you may have. I need to get rest as i have been at this for 15 hours today. I will check this topic first thing in the morning and get back with you with more suggestions if needed. good luck and please let me know if this works for you.

Edited by rshaffer61, 12 June 2009 - 09:45 PM.

  • 0

#20
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Defrag results are attached and here's a picture if it helps:

Posted Image

Services screenshot; NOTE: This is before I tried the speed run for disabling startup tasks.

Posted Image

Attached Files


  • 0

#21
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
I cant get in normal mode at all right now. It hangs ( can move mouse ) at the 'welcome' screen for around 2-4 minutes without freezing now. The rest is done for tonight though. I'm going to let the computer rest overnight.

p.s. About your earlier comment about following directions well - Thank you =), it honestly comes from raiding in World of Warcraft. =)
  • 0

#22
vipermcloud

vipermcloud

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
i run a similar compy with xp home and have had the same problem.
i have only a few things that i have learned from try and try again tactic i use.

my comp froze up and would just sit there and i couldent do anything, i always had it connect to the interwebs. i unpluged the ethernet cord and it would still be freezy like but in order to fix the problem i went into internet connections and disabled, removed some windows components and updates that s.p3 does not use or that are useless to me and turned off auto update. i then repaired the connection and tried again. rinse,lather and repeated excluding the removing unused windows updates. i also could get into safe mode no problem but couldent fix it from there. norton 360 gave me a dl to get for a trojan i might have had and i did that too, i was forced to use it in safe mode(norton told me to). my comp works fine now.

sorry if this dosent work but its my best guess.
  • 0

#23
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Sorry, but I honestly cant understand what your trying to tell me. Anyways, I'm off to bed for now.
  • 0

#24
Ectech

Ectech

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 204 posts
One issue I see that might be causeing the machine to freeze is Spyware Doctor.

Bootup into safe mode and remove Spyware Doctor using add/remove programs.

Next, shutdown and remove the case. Check to make sure all connections are firm and all components are properly seated (video card)
  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try Ectech's suggestion and see if that helps. if not then I'm not sure if this will work but going to try it.


Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Ok, awake now so I'll try these.
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK thanks for the update and I am here also and should be most of the day.
  • 0

#28
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Removing Spyware Doctor did nothing, made it freeze faster actually ( before 'welcome' screen ). The sfc check popped up very quickly and close, no errors? The drive in regedit is set to D while my normal drive is C so I think it worked.
  • 0

#29
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I dont think I'll be able to get compressed air because of my age and my dad not liking my computer habit

I'm not sure what you mean by this as a can of compressed air as far as I know is not regulated for any certain age. It's just a can of air that blows out the fans and dust from the inside of your system.
I'm not sure why it seems to run in Safe Mode and not Normal Mode but I suspect we still have a software issue . I only suggested the fan as you mentioned it was not turning correctly even after cleaning it out. This may or may not have caused internal damage to the cpu. I would like to try a repair installation of your OS.
Do you have a Microsoft OS disk of your XP Pro or is it the Dell Recovery Disk?
With the Repair Installation we can get the Windows back to original state and if there are any problems it should take care of them.
Also is there anything on the system that cannot be reinstalled? If so I would suggest you Backup your Data Files before we proceed with a Repair Installation Under normal scenarios this should not affect your data but I want to make sure you are safe just in case.
Now worst case scenario at this point is you may have to do a Full Installation of Windows.
Another item we could look at is maybe your PSU is getting weak and may need to be replaced.

Edited by rshaffer61, 13 June 2009 - 11:44 AM.

  • 0

#30
heiser

heiser

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Im pretty sure compressed air is regulated where I live. Backing up a few games on a external HD while I find a Microsoft OS disk, does any version work?

Edited by heiser, 13 June 2009 - 12:01 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP