Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows XP sytem running really slow, Help please?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
sere83

sere83

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Hi there,

I am running a intel pentium 4 2ghz with 512ddr ram. I had sime viruses/malware a while back and the helpful guys here helped me remove it. Anyway I have started using a avg internet security instead of avira but now my computer is running really slow (however i think it may have been running slow before too)

Admittedly it hasn't ever been defragmentd in 6 years and only has 512 ram, but it still ran ok, now it is taking ages to start and shut down and processes crash on shutdown. Any program or file also takes ages to open. And it sounds like the hardrdrive makes the busy noise constantly.

I am not sure if it is a virus issue or what. Any help troubleshooting this issue what be greatly apprciated.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to know location.
7: Attach to your next reply.
  • 0

#3
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
AVG 8.0 and above has been known to suck memory on some computers. I dumped it for that reason and went to Avira.
Do the autoruns list as requested, but also you need to get it defragged and the temp files cleaned out. It has been stated that NTFS does not require defrag, but that is not true. A heavily fragmented computer will cause the entire system to bog done.

I like ATF cleaner (in my signature) for cleaning the files. and JKdefrag (in my signature) for defragging.

With ATF cleaner. Under main you need to select all. If you have Firefox, you can select all also UNLESS you want to keep saved passwords (uncheck that one).

123runner
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
ram is really cheap right now and you should consider 1GB the sweet spot...

click on start...run...type in MSCONFIG...press enter...click on start tab...
on a desktop you uncheck everything EXCEPT your ANTI VIRUS and firewall...on a laptop you have to be more selective or your touchpad ...wireless and things like that won't work...you will have to google each one and then decide what you can get rid of in the start up section....

these tweaks will speed you up some...
turn off indexing...click ...START...MY COMPUTER...right click on the hard drive...properties..uncheck allow indexing and compress drive...then click on OK...when it asks about subfolders say YES...it will take a little while to finish...

go to add/remove programs and get rid of anything you don't want or use
get rid of real player... Quicktime ...and Adobe reader
they are resource hogs...lower down I will give you the alternatives for them all..
get CCLEANER
To clean your temp folder, recycle bin, etc..please download this free tool...

CCleaner

Don't install any Toolbars, or other programs, should it ask you!Just
uncheck the option of installing the Yahoo toolbar....if you get
the slim version it does not have the toolbar
thats the one I recommend...

It will put a shortcut on your Desktop.

Before first use...
Select Options then Advanced.
UNCHECK "Only delete files in Windows Temp folder older than 48 hours"
The rest of the standard settings are fine...

Click on CCleaner to start it. Then click "Run Cleaner"

DO NOT USE ANY OF THE OTHER TOOLS...RUNNING THEM MAY CAUSE OTHER PROBLEMS

What JavaRa does is to check if your computer has the latest version of Java Runtime Environment (JRE).
If the version you have installed has been superseded by a newer version the program will download and install this newer version for you, by running Java's update program.
JavaRa then allows you to remove all possible older versions of this program. This way it will ensure that the security of your PC is enhanced will create extra space on your hard disk....get it here

this replace's Adobe reader
Foxit Reader is a free utility that includes some tools that Adobe lacks, including a "typewriter" tool that lets you type text over any PDF, and edit any of the text they contain. not just files that have been set with form fields.
Foxit launches very quickly (in about one second) and it requires no installation... It allows you open, view, print, and change the page layout in PDF files. For some functions, such as the typewriter function, FoxIt Reader shows an ad for FoxIt Reader Pro. However, these functions still work with minor limitations.
get foxit reader

I highly recommend these alternatives to quicktime and real player..
they both are
- Quick and easy install..about 30 seconds..
- No background processes
- Low on resources
- Smaller size
QuickTime Alternative...QuickTime Alternative will allow you to play QuickTime files (.mov, .qt, .3gp and other extensions) without having to install the official QuickTime Player

Real Alternative.. will allow you to play RealMedia files without having to install RealPlayer or RealOne Player.
==================================================================
Starting Disk Cleanup

* Click Start ... Programs... Accessories ... System Tools ... Disk Cleanup
OR
* In Windows Explorer or My Computer... right-click the disk in which you want to free up space... click Properties... click the General tab... and then click Disk Cleanup....

you can use JKdefrag as advised by 123runner or..

next get diskeeper lite here...
and Defragment Your Computer...click on the diskeeper icon...close the NAG screen...select the C drive if that's the drive your operating system is installed on...towards the bottom click on defrag..the first time you run it it could take 20 minutes or so...run it about every two weeks and it will only take about 5 minutes..YOU CAN'T DO ANYTHING ELSE WHILE ITS DEFRAGGING...close it when your done...it will tell you how many fragmented files you had...give us that number when you reply..

pick one of the defraggers and run it

you do not have to defrag in safe mode with diskeeper lite and its 10 times as fast than the defragger that comes with windows....
you should time your computer before doing these and then again after doing the tweaks..

Edited by happyrock, 22 June 2009 - 07:59 AM.

  • 0

#5
sere83

sere83

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Many thanks for your help guys.

rshaffer61 >>>> I did as instructed and have attached my text file

123Runner >>>> Yes I think AVG does seem to hog more resources. I could not get Avira to work propely though. After I got the virus it was advised I reinstall, I would update and register which was fine but when I updated it would go back to the demo version despite being fully registered already.

happyrock >>>> I have done most of that stuff. I will have to wait until tomorrow to defragment though. I already had quicktime alternative and ccleaner (which I run regularly anyway), I got real alternative too and uninstalled real player. I unchecked 'allow indexing and compress drive' although when I tried to compress old files it hung and did nothing. I also ran disk cleanup and my java appears to be the latest version (I remember updating a while back) and ran JaRa to remove old versions (although I don't think there were any as i'd already uninstalled them). I also ran msconfig and stopped running any unecessary processes at start up, there was nothing much in there though as I check that regularly anwyay.

Attached Files


Edited by sere83, 22 June 2009 - 04:04 PM.

  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ AVG8_TRAY AVG Tray Monitor
+ AVGIDS
+ EPSON Stylus CX3600 Series


When done restart computer and then:


Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.



Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged
  • 0

#7
sere83

sere83

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Thanks, Ok I will try those things, can I run autodignostics without being in safe mode? how long will it take approx? just wondered as I've got friend with a similar dell computer to mine and he tried to defregment after years and it took literally days and never properly finished.

I'm really starting to think a lot of this problem is because of AVG. I mean it takes ages for the computer to start up and literally 2 minutes to first open firefox. I do not remember this happening prior to the AVG install. Defintely need to defrag though too though anyway.

Edited by sere83, 23 June 2009 - 09:25 AM.

  • 0

#8
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
time your boot with a watch or clock with a second hand..then uninstall AVG...disconnect from the internet first though...try booting ...time it ...is it faster...yes then try reinstalling AVG reboot compare boot times
  • 0

#9
improvepctools

improvepctools

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Windows XP can run slow from a few reasons

You might need to upgrade your RAM or to format your computer. I know that windows might run slow also because registry errors and invalid entries.

This article will help maybe.
http://www.squidoo.c...nning-very-slow
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
improvepctools,

GTG does not recommend the use of any registry cleaners

A registry cleaner will not increase your system's speed or performance, and has the potential to break your registry to the point that your PC is no longer bootable. We strongly advise that people stay away from any of the registry cleaners out there. Go HERE to get more information about why registry cleaners aren't needed.


Thanks to Sari for the explanation
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
improvepctools

improvepctools

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi rshaffer61,

I found that people that are not professional windows users, find that a registry cleaner is helpful and actually has increased their computer performance. You probably know the problem that internet explorer loads sites for a few minutes, I have tried to run a registry cleaner on a computer that had this problem and after cleaning the registry and restarting the computer, everything started to work faster, even internet explorer.

I can see why computer pros doesn't recommend using a registry cleaner as the registry is very critical for windows to operate correctly. But there are people that doesn't understand computer that needs to have the simpler solution to their problems. A registry cleaner is one of the tools that answers those problems.
  • 0

#12
sere83

sere83

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
rshaffer61, still havn't taken any action yet just wanted to know first, can I run autodignostics without being in safe mode? how long will it take approx?
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Not sure what Autodiagnostics you are asking about sera83.
The Auslogics defrag depends on the capacity of your hard drive and how fragmented it is.
  • 0

#14
sere83

sere83

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
haha, sorry read that wrong. Yes I meant the Auslogistics, my harddrive is 80gb and has never feen defragmented, since I got it about 6 years ago so is heavily fragmented.
  • 0

#15
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

my harddrive is 80gb and has never been defragmented, since I got it about 6 years ago so is heavily fragmented.

my money is on that never having defragged is your problem...it may take many hours to complete...how much free space do you have on the system drive...
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP