Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Can't install prgrams on dual core processor

• Please log in to reply

vkf

vkf

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I am a major newbie with computers so please excuse my ignorance.

I just recenlty purchased a computer to run my sims 3 game. It is running windows home vista premium. It is an Acer Aspire x1200, AMD athlon 64x dual core processor 5400+ 2.80 ghz RAM 4.0gb.

Ok well I have no idea how to figure out this dual core processor thing at all.
I have 137 gb on C drive and 140 on D drive. I was wanting to put my SIMS 2 and expansion packs on D drive. During the install process I selected the D drive and the only folder in there was a folder with my name on it. I chose just the D drive as the install location but it says it won't let me cause it could cause the computer to become instable. Huh?!

Do I have 140 GB's that are just goint to sit there unused forever and only be able to put pictures and stuff on it? No programs. Help.

Again sorry for being so basic

Thanks

Advertisements

diabillic

diabillic

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
Your D: drive is probably a recovery partition and is locked from you installing anything to it. Try installing to C: and see what happens.

quick edit: The drive is probably just partitioned (virtually split) in half, making it 320GB total.

Edited by diabillic, 23 June 2009 - 03:59 PM.

vkf

vkf

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 4 posts