Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

fix <windows root>\system32\hal.dll without win xp dis


  • Please log in to reply

#16
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
look at my previous post.. screenshots
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
black but it doesnt have the top blue part

Edited by ipoder2, 06 July 2009 - 07:14 PM.

  • 0

#18
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
it looks like this

Attached Thumbnails

  • chkdsk.jpg

  • 0

#19
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
what kind of hard dive do you have ...WD... seagate...maxtor ?
  • 0

#20
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
im not exactly sure, its my step brothers computer that he had before i knew him. how would i check?

also the picture attached is something i made it paint, other than the font and stuff being unalligned, this is exactly what the screen looks like at the moment

Attached Files


Edited by ipoder2, 06 July 2009 - 07:36 PM.

  • 0

#21
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
unplug from the wall ...open case...look on the hard drive and get the info off it..
will look like this...
  • 0

#22
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
ok, and itll say right on there? ill do that



ok i need a screwdriver and i dont have any in the house, so ill do it tomorrow, unless i can find one, ill let you know

Edited by ipoder2, 06 July 2009 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0

#23
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
i did it, its a maxtor
  • 0

#24
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and get SeaTools for DOS...you will have to scroll to the bottom of the page to except the EULA..
SeaTools for DOS has replaced SeaTools Desktop and PowerMax. SeaTools for DOS can test Seagate or Maxtor Parallel ATA (PATA and IDE) and Serial ATA (SATA) interface disc drives. Because the software boots to its own operating system you can test your drive regardless of the OS installed on it. You can even test a new or completely blank drive. SeaTools for DOS will instruct the drive to run its built in Drive Self Test (DST) and give either a pass or fail status. If you are troubleshooting your disc drive and the DST passes, then you have a good drive!
tutorial on using it here
  • 0

#25
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
ok, i had to get microsoft .net framework 2.0 on this computer first because it's pretty old, after i do everything instructed in the tutorial, will my drive be fixed?
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
ok it says i passed, now what?

nevermind i passed the short test, now im doing the long test, 10% done with 11 errors

Edited by ipoder2, 07 July 2009 - 11:04 AM.

  • 0

#27
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
ok scan was finished and i got this, error(s) detected on NON seagate drive. it is suggested that you contact the maker or your disk drive for more information.
i got 40 errors during the scan
  • 0

#28
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
also this is new, whenever i check to see if my computer works, i get the hal.dll error like before, but now i am also missing my boot.ini
  • 0

#29
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
the drive is dead or dying ...thats why your getting more errors...it can't read those sectors that contain the info...you will have to replace the drive...
do you have all your data backed up...
  • 0

#30
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
no, but it doesnt matter, theres nothing on there that i need. so my hard drive basically died? thats what the problem was?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP