Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Question about FSB and Processor compatibility

• Please log in to reply

DarkMystic122

DarkMystic122

• PipPip
  • 34 posts
Okay so I have a small dilemma and I'm still learning about how to put together systems. A relative of mine has a motherboard that is a Gigabyte GA-8VM800PMD it is a LGA 775 socket motherboard. And their CPU Compatibility list is a little confusing to me. Are all those processors compatible with the motherboard? And if I get a processor that is 1066 or 1333 when the motherboard can only support up to 800 does that mean the FSB of the Processor will slow down to that speed or not work at all?

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,997 posts
  • MVP
Yes, it means they will slow down to the lowest common speed.

DarkMystic122

DarkMystic122

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
So would I also be able to use more Processor Series like this one? Sorry if I sound really novice on this like I said Im still new to building a brand new system. And thank you for the help.

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,997 posts
  • MVP

So would I also be able to use more Processor Series like this one?