Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Ridiculously long load in WOW

• Please log in to reply

knifebob

knifebob

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Alright, first off let me say that i'm not a computer guru. I can follow directions if they're specific. Ok so heres my problem: I've been playing World of warcraft for several months now with no problem. Just recently my computer got infected with some crazy virus and my stepmom and I decided it would be best to completely erase my hard drive ( i have an external so nothing important was lost, and the external has been scanned and works fine). I just finished updating all of my drivers and hardware and decided to take the ultimate test: check to see if WOW works. Loading the game took about a minute and a half (not horrible) but it took fully five minutes to log into the server (after selecting my character). once inside it takes another minute or two to load the environment, however after the long load time everything runs smooth and fine. Can anyone help me with this?

Advertisements

Dakre

Dakre

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Upgrade!? Heh, it could range from several issues, such as needing more memory to compensate, defragging your hard drive, or even running some optimization tools. I have found one called Auslogics Speed Boost (if I remember right) and they include the basics, which include a hard drive and registry defragger and cleaner, as well as a tweak program to change various computer settings.