Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Slow computer


  • Please log in to reply

#31
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
256 meg module.
What you need is Two 512 megs modules for a total of 1 gig
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I thought that was what you were going to tell me , anyway I'll send that module back but their price for a 512 ( 2 ) is quite steep can you recommend where to buy ??? Thanks again . Randy
  • 0

#33
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Newegg
or
Tigerdirect

These are the two online places we recommend in the country.
I take it by your profile you live in the Central Time zone like I do.
Both the links I took the liberty of linking directly to each of their memory pages.

Edited by rshaffer61, 29 July 2009 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0

#34
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Need Help Deciding?
Call 800-800-8300





Ultra 512MB PC133 SDRAM

Centon 512MB PC133 SDRAM 133MHz Memory
Rating: Rating:
Order Today, Ships Today Order Today, Ships Today
Only $ 34.99

Sku: ULT30078
Only $ 34.99

Sku: C10-5034

Memory Module Specifications
Memory Category Desktop Desktop
Memory Type SDRAM SDRAM
Memory Size 512MB 512MB
Total Memory Size 512MB 512MB
Memory Modules 1 1
Memory Speed PC133 PC133
Memory Speed MHz 133MHz 133MHz
Pins 168 168
ECC No

Condition

Warranty
LIFETIME parts LIFETIME parts; LIFETIME parts
Price
Only $ 34.99

Sku: ULT30078
Only $ 34.99

Sku: C10-5034

Just to make sure ,this will work ?? Can't thank you enough !! Hopefully this will do it . Randy , I live in the eastern time zone (not that it matters )

Edited by radan, 29 July 2009 - 04:52 PM.

  • 0

#35
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That price is per stick correct?
You would need two of them so you would be looking at about 70.00 plus shipping correct?
Not bad actually for the older technology. Usually when older technology is needed the price is higher.
In your case that actually is pretty good for pricing.
  • 0

#36
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Thanks again and hopefully you won't be hearing from me again(at least for awhile) Randy
  • 0

#37
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well I would like to hear from you as soon as you get the memory installed.
We like to know either way if our help was good or not.
It helps us learn also.

Edited by rshaffer61, 29 July 2009 - 09:07 PM.

  • 0

#38
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I'll let you know , Thanks Randy
  • 0

#39
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Still need just a little bit of help !! Went online to order and asked what would be the replacement modules and they told me that I already have the max memory for my computer at 512 (2 at 256 ) ???? Must be Im not able to upgrade to 1024 ?? Thanks Randy
  • 0

#40
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
please give me the make and model again. I will double check what they say you can put in it for you.
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I have a Compaq, Presario 5000 series model 5310US , Randy
  • 0

#42
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Direct from Compaq's site

System Memory 256MB 133 MHz SyncDRAM, 2 Total DIMM Slots Upgradeable to 512MB (SyncDRAM DIMM required)


:) :)
  • 0

#43
radan

radan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Sorry it's been so long to reply to the last post but I've been checking and checking and the best anybody can come up with is that my memory is at max with 512MB . Thanks once again for all your help !!
  • 0

#44
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That verifies what Compaq's site said also.
That means you may have slowing no matter what is done at this point. :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP