Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Blue Screen - STOP: 0X0000000A


  • Please log in to reply

#1
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
Many thanks for providing this form to help us!

I keep getting a Blue Screen including the following information:
RQL_NOT_Less_OR_EQUAL

STOP: 0X0000000a (OX00000000, 0X0000001C, 0XOOOOOOO1, OX804F8ABC)

I am suspecting that the problem has to do with my power cable since the battery now takes much longer to charge and the battery icon on the computer keeps blinking all the time and computer alternate between being on AC power and on battery. Aslo the battery now never becomes fully charged and then the computer runs on AC power only.

Do you think replacing the charger will solve this problem? How can I make sure that the problem is with the charger and not where I plug the charger in the laptop.

Do you think such a problem can cause any damage to the laptop.

I am attaching a screenshot of the error report.

Thank you very much!
Salmady

Attached Files


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
This error is usually caused by newly added hardware, software or updated third party drivers. With that let's see if we can narrow this down a little by the following questions and application.

Have you added any new hardware to your system prior to the issue starting?
External hardware probably in your case since this seems to be a laptop
Any software added or updated just prior to the issue starting
Any new drivers for hardware or software installed just prior to the issue starting?

Download WhoCrashed from the link in my signature below
This program checks for any drivers which may have been causing your computer to crash....

Click on the file you just downloaded and run it.
Put a tick in Accept then click on Next
Put a tick in the Don't create a start menu folder then click Next
Put a tick in Create a Desktop Icon then click on Install and make sure there is a tick in Launch Whocrashed before clicking Finish
Click Analyze
It will want to download the Debugger and install it Say Yes

WhoCrashed will create report but you have to scroll down to see it
Copy and paste it into your next reply

Edited by rshaffer61, 25 July 2009 - 06:18 AM.

  • 1

#3
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
Thanks for your quick response!

I have not added new hardware to my system prior to the issue starting, but I am using an external (removable) hard drive in which I backup my files. One interesting thing about this hard drive is that when I use it in another computer - I cannot safe anything on it - it tells me that it is either full or right-protected which is not the case! I tried formatting it and putting the data again but again it does not accept any changes in any other computer.

The only software I added is RegCure by ParetoLogic in my attempt to resolve this blue screen problem.
I have not added any new drivers for hardware or software.

Below, please find the report produced by whochashed.

Analysis
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash dump directory: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump

Crash dumps are enabled on your computer.


On Fri 7/24/2009 4:43:37 AM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: sysplant.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x1000000A (0x0, 0x1C, 0x1, 0x804F8ABC)
Error: Unknown
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\sysplant.sys
product: Symantec CMC Firewall
company: Symantec Corporation
description: Symantec CMC Firewall SysPlant



On Fri 7/24/2009 4:15:28 AM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: sysplant.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x1000000A (0x0, 0x1C, 0x1, 0x804F8ABC)
Error: Unknown
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\sysplant.sys
product: Symantec CMC Firewall
company: Symantec Corporation
description: Symantec CMC Firewall SysPlant




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2 crash dumps have been found and analyzed. Note that it's not always possible to state with certainty whether a reported driver is really responsible for crashing your system or that the root cause is in another module. Nonetheless it's suggested you look for updates for the products that these drivers belong to and regularly visit Windows update or enable automatic updates for Windows. In case a piece of malfunctioning hardware is causing trouble, a search with Google on the bug check errors together with the model name and brand of your computer may help you investigate this further.


Thanks!
Salmady
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Both your crashes are due to sysplant.sys
This is related to the following
Symantec Protection Agent
or to
Sygate firewall

This driver can be disabled without any problems. Please do the following:

Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to know location.
7: Attach to your next reply.


While I go through the log once you reply with it please do the following:

Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything and restart.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Try going back into msconfig and check one item and reboot
Keep doing that till you have found the problem or all are finally checked.
Post back with the results
  • 0

#5
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
Attached, please find the autorun log file.

I will now check the startup.

Attached Files


  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ MSMSGS
+ msnmsgr


This next entry needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you are using multi language on your keyboard.



To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:


Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:


Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.



Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged
  • 0

#7
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
I cannot see + MSMSGS; and + msnmsgr when I click on the logon tab. I think the reason is that I UN-checked them in the startup menu. Is there anything else I need to do about them?

I have manually disabled the ctfmon.exe.

I will restart my computer now and then follow the two next steps.

At the same time, I unchecked all the startup items and now I am checking them back one items at the time and rebooting and so far – no problem is revealed. Shall I continue doing this after cleaning and defragmenting or no need for that?

Thanks!
  • 0

#8
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
I cannot see + MSMSGS; and + msnmsgr when I click on the logon tab. I think the reason is that I UN-checked them in the startup menu. Is there anything else I need to do about them?

I have manually disabled the ctfmon.exe.

I will restart my computer now and then follow the two next steps.

At the same time, I unchecked all the startup items and now I am checking them back one items at the time and rebooting and so far – no problem is revealed. Shall I continue doing this after cleaning and defragmenting or no need for that?

Thanks!
  • 0

#9
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
I have done everything as per your advice and the computer seems to be functioning properly now.

I just hope that blue screen will not appear again.

Many thanks for your help!

Salmady
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK well you now have to start adding one entry at a time and rebooting
Checking the system to see if BSOD happens and if not then add the next startup entry. Keep doing that till you find the one causing the problem.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
I am getting the BSOD again. I backed up some files into a portable hard drive and when I put the Laptop to hibernate I got a blue screen.

The message error this time is as follows: 0XC0000047, 0X804FCF44, 0XF7731060, 0X00000000.

Does this still have to do with my startup items. FYI, the last startup item I added was 'apdproxy".

Appreciate your advice!
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
apdproxy has to do with Adobe
Since this seems to be the culprit i suggest going into Add\Remove programs and uninstall all adobe files.
Then download the newest one so that you only have one version and there should be no problems then.
  • 0

#13
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
OK. I have removed Abode and installed the latest version. I hope this brings an end to the appearance to the BSOD.

Thanks!
Salma
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please let us know how it works now.
If not we can continiue working on the issue.
We are here till it is resolved or until you say different.
:)
  • 0

#15
salmady

salmady

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
So far, so good. Will definitely let you know if the BSOD appears again.

Your help is very much appreciated! :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP