Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer Freezing Up


  • Please log in to reply

#1
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
My computer keeps freezing up. I can't even get into the task manager and must hard re-start the machine.

I have formatted the computer several times with clean installs of XP 32bit, Vista 32bit and Vista 64bit but it does the same thing. My event viewer is riddled with restarts but they're always for something different.

I've scanned with Norton IS 2009, avast, Spy Sweeper, SpyBot SD, Windows defender, SpyHunter, AdAware, Malware Bytes, and to many others to count. All they come up with is normal low threat cookies.

I was told that my machine doesn't have any malware on it and I should post it on this forum.

Here is the link:

http://www.geekstogo...88#entry1584088

Thanks
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
With three different OS's then the problem could be Hard drive, memory, or CPU

Where did the three OS disk come from?

Download and install EVEREST
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#3
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
I don't understand what your asking when you say "where did the 3 OS disks come from" do you mean Microsoft or the store I bought them at?

As far as the report I attached it.

Thanks for you help and your reply.

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

store I bought them at?

This is what I was asking if they were burned copies or Genuine Microsoft Disk.

Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to know location.
7: Attach to your next reply.
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
After doing the above step please:

Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y

If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0

#6
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Ok, trying to find the "files not found" items right now (needle in a haystack, lol)

As far as my windows copies, yes they are all store bought genuine.

I'll do the chkdsk through the night, I use my computer for work and I'll need to continue to use it for a little bit more.

Thanks for the speedy replies.

Attached Files


Edited by pucker21, 28 July 2009 - 07:59 PM.

  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I see you have Registry Mechanic installed and autorunning.
A registry cleaner will not increase your system's speed or performance, and has the potential to break your registry to the point that your PC is no longer bootable. We strongly advise that people stay away from any of the registry cleaners out there. Go HERE to get more information about why registry cleaners aren't needed.


Thanks to Sari for the explanation


Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ RegistryMechanic



When done restart computer and then:


Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.



Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged
  • 0

#8
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Ok, unchecked Registry Mechanic ran TFC, and the defrag.

When I restarted though, after only about 5 minutes of runtime it froze again, and I had to hard restart it. I tried removing my bluetooth tranceiver and using a USB keyboard and mouse but it then froze at the welcome screen. When I restarted it again it worked again, so far.

On a sidenote. I installed the Registry Mechanic after I started having these problems. It couldh't be the cause of them, right?
  • 0

#9
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Ok, I ran the ChkDisk no problems reported, but it's freezing more frequently.

It immeidately froze at the welcome screen after the chkdsk and it's freezing after about 20 minutes whether it's idling or not.

I'm stumped.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

On a sidenote. I installed the Registry Mechanic after I started having these problems. It couldh't be the cause of them, right?

May not be the problem but I can almost assure you it's not helping the issue



Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows. The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply


Posted Image

Edited by rshaffer61, 29 July 2009 - 05:34 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Here is the shot, I finally got it to stop crashing to get this on here:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Speedfan.jpg

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Seems you may have a overheating problem.
I need you to open the system up. To do this (I'm assuming this is a desktop system) looking from the front you need to loosen the screws on the back left to remove the side panel.

Make sure you ground yourself before touching any internal component of the system. To do this touch a unpainted surface of the computer case or if you have a static wrist band put it on.

Inside I need you to check the CPU fan located on the MOBO.
Make sure it is clean and free of any bstacle that may stop it or slow it down in any way.
A can of compressed air is the best way to blow the dust and dirt out of the fan.
If the fan is really nasty you may have to remove it and use a Q-tip to clean the fins off completely.
Once everything is cleaned that put the fan back on and try the system.
Let it run for a few minutes and then include a new Speedfan screenshot
Let me know how it is working now.
  • 0

#13
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Were the temperatures not normal? Aside from the 127 degree system temp (I don't think this is possible) what range should they be at?
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The system one is high and I would also check the second case cooling fan while you are inside the system.
Something is not allowing air movement.
The cpu is looking ok but I'm just going through every option at this point to check everything out.


The next thing to do is then run a System File Check or SFC /SCANNOW

This will check all system files to make sure they are correct and if any are found they should be replaced.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!

Edited by rshaffer61, 30 July 2009 - 09:03 AM.

  • 0

#15
pucker21

pucker21

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
So far so good, it's been up for several hours so far.

I'll let you know if anything happens.

Thanks
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP