Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows XP running very very slow


  • Please log in to reply

#31
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
:) Happyrock :)
Tag teaming
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
I just picked up the slack while you were offline...you have it under control and don't need my help... :)
  • 0

#33
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I appreciate it... real life calls and I'm not here as much lately.
:)
  • 0

#34
DDD999

DDD999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Sorry rshaffer61

I want to make sure. Would you shown me which one is AV and Firewall please.

Thanks

Edited by DDD999, 05 August 2009 - 04:57 PM.

  • 0

#35
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Av programs would be
Avast
Avira
AVG
Norton
McAfee

Firewall would be either Windows built in firewall or something like
Zone Alarm
Comodo
Norton Internet Security Suite
  • 0

#36
DDD999

DDD999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Av programs would be
Avast
Avira
AVG
Norton
McAfee

Firewall would be either Windows built in firewall or something like
Zone Alarm
Comodo
Norton Internet Security Suite




After unchecked eveything and restart my pc it becomes very fast now. But the system Configuration Utility box pop up. What i have to do next?
Thanks :)

Attached Thumbnails

  • System_startup_4.JPG

  • 0

#37
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
put a tick in the box on the lower left of the config popup that says don't show this message again...
what anti virus do you have installed...
  • 0

#38
DDD999

DDD999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

put a tick in the box on the lower left of the config popup that says don't show this message again...
what anti virus do you have installed...


No sound at all.

I am using Norton 360 premier Edition
  • 0

#39
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No sound at all?
Just check the box Happyrock states
That will stop the message from popping up when you restart.
  • 0

#40
DDD999

DDD999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Done. Now running pretty good.

I can heard radio from Real player.but I cannot heard anything when I watching video from youtube.
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok to fix you tube sound problem do this.

How To Fix:
  • Go to START-->RUN and type regedit to open the Registry Editor
  • Navigate to the following key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32
  • Now right-click on the heading Drivers32 and select NEW-->STRING VALUE.
  • Call this new String Value wavemapper.
  • Now double-click the wavemapper entry you just created and for the VALUE field, type in msacm32.drv and click OK.
  • Close the Registry Editor and try watching a video on youtube again.

  • 0

#42
DDD999

DDD999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
wavemapper already entry do I need to delete the old one first

Edited by DDD999, 06 August 2009 - 07:20 AM.

  • 0

#43
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and test flash and shockwave...
nojoy... go here for the Video Player Issues: Can't hear audio troubleshooting guide
  • 0

#44
DDD999

DDD999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

go here and test flash and shockwave...
nojoy... go here for the Video Player Issues: Can't hear audio troubleshooting guide


Hello happyrock
Test result are everything ok .
There are no XP start up sound no volume bar appear as well.

Thanks

Edited by DDD999, 06 August 2009 - 08:18 AM.

  • 0

#45
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
did you try anything from the troubleshooting at all...
can you play any music or play any dvd's and get sound...
no...
then check your device manager for any yellow ! or ? marks ...
to check... Click on Start and then Run...Type in devmgmt.msc and then press Enter
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP