Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First time builder, need parts suggestions.

• Please log in to reply

L.Martofel

L.Martofel

• PipPip
  • 69 posts
Ok, as you've surmised by my topic, this is my first time building a computer, so be gentle!

Anyway, I've already bought some minor components (I've got a case and a hard drive so far, but I'll get more into the specs and what I'm looking to do with them in a bit).

What I want to be able to have is a multitasking computer, that doesn't have too much trouble with rendering video for burning DVDs (my current P4 takes about 3 hours to burn 2 hours of video onto dvd using nero), that doesn't bog down with HD video (I get stuttering now when trying to watch 720p), can handle music editing software (currently using Sonar 7 Cakewalk Producer edition-cpu bogs down when I have a lot of tracks), and can play the occasional game (no Crysis for me!).

Granted, the computer I'm planning on building will be taking the place of my old Dell workhorse, which has served me well for about 6 years now, but is way too outdated to be able to upgrade anymore. I will be cannibalizing it for parts, though, once I get the new one built. I plan on reusing my DVD burning drive, and possibly wiping the 160GB HD on it and using it for only the OS and programs.

I'd like the new computer to be built around this CPU:

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb

What I already have:

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB HD (Got it on sale at Best Buy for like $80!)

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case