Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New build computer sata hard drive fails to work

• Please log in to reply

dapa2350

dapa2350

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I am a computer novice and decided to explore by building my own computer. I have put it together and am able to get into bios. BIOS sees my sata hard drive. When I tried to instal Vista it was unable to write to sata hard drive.
I believe the message is that there is no sata driver. I have tried looking through bios to see if there is a sata driver that I can turn on. Some of the reading I have done seems to say that I can do it through CMOS. I am having no luck in understanding what I need to do to be able to get the hard drive that is seen in bios to work. (I have 2 and unpluged one until I can get vista installed and working)
System is a 902 Antec Case, motherboard gigagyte GA-MA-790XT-UD4P, CPU is AMD phenom II Quad 955 BE, with DDR3 memory.
I am able to get part way through instalation of vista so I know that the DVD player works but I can not get the motherboard disc to open or run. I went to the gigabyte web site and copied the chip set and sata drivers, but I don't know how or even if I can acesses it in the USB port...I have tried.
Where do I go from here?

Advertisements

Numb Remxed

Numb Remxed

• PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
Almost all Windows install discs should have SATA drivers built in. What brand is your hard drive?

If you're hard drive is new, it may be dead on arrival.

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts