Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Noob needs help with overclocking an e5200

• Please log in to reply

dcross64

dcross64

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
I'm really new to overclocking and some simple step by step instructions, if possible, would be very very helpful.

here are my specs-

mobo-GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU-e2500 @ 2.5ghz

PSU-500watt

ram-kingston 3gb DDR2 @ 333mhz

HDD-250gb

video card-hd 4670 iceq turbo (4850 in crossfire soon)

thanks in advance for any help :)

Advertisements

edge2022

edge2022

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Read a basic guide to help you get started: http://www.pcstats.c...?articleID=1804
Understand the risks (there are not that many, and bad things don't happen often)...
Then take a shot at overclocking, and see how much you can push your hardware before heat and bottlenecks limit you. Be careful to not push your hardware too fast, and after each slight overclock run a stress test to ensure stability. Such as Prime95: http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/
Here is a guide to using it: http://www.playtool....95/prime95.html

Also, when using CrossfireX, make sure your PSU has enough wattage and 12V rail max amperage to keep your system stable. Can you give me the make/model of your PSU, or the wattage and amperages?

dcross64

dcross64

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
my psu is like some kind of brand called tiger pro, it looks like a cheap chineese brand, ill probably get a new one before i get a second 4850.