Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Build Gone Wrong and I Need Help

• Please log in to reply

AFSim

AFSim

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Okay, so this is going to be long as there have been many an issue, but I would be utterly grateful to those who read the whole thing.

This is my first build and the specs are:
- CASE: ARK | GL-09A BK
- CPU: AMD | PH II X3 720 BK AM3 2.8G
- GRAPHICS: SAPPHIRE 100245L HD4850 512M
- MEM: 2 1Gx2 | OCZ DIII1333 OCZ3P13332GK
- PSU: CORSAIR | CMPSU-450VX 450W
- HD: 500G | WD WD5001AALS
- MB: GIGABYTE | GA-MA770T-UD3P AMD770
- DVD BURNER LITE-ON | IHAS124-04

I think that's it.

INSTALLATION ISSUES
Well basically, I started putting everything together and found it excruciatingly painful to figure out where all of the front panel cords and things plugged into the motherboard. My power supply comes with more cords than I've ever seen in my life and there were no labels or installation tips, so I have no idea if those are plugged in correctly.

The first problem I had was that I had no thermal paste since I was under the impression that the CPU came with some cheap stuff that I would replace later. I put the heatsink on anyway. When I put the motherboard in, the screws were too short to reach the case, so I used some bronze colored things that came with the case that were like screw extenders and that worked. It elevated the motherboard, too, away from the edge of the case.