Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Is a new RAM chip faulty? Odd symptoms

• Please log in to reply

deeplyblue

deeplyblue

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
I'm trying to upgrade the RAM on my mother's PC. It's running XP SP2, and she likes to do photo editing and work on music files, so I thought a little extra RAM would improve matters. I've been putting extra RAM into PCs for 20 years, and never seen what happened next.

First check existing single 512MB chip. I inspected it physically, and checked what SANDRA said and, later, got the Crucial online scanner to tell me what it diagnosed. All agreed:

Existing chip: 512MB DDR 400 PC3200 non-ECC. (single-sided, 8 chips on 184-pin module brand: Elixir ??)

(Mobo: K8T-Neo-V 2 RAM slots)

Normally I'd buy a new Crucial chip, but I need this immediately and we may have a postal strike on our hands any day now, so I got a new chip from a local branch of PCWorld.

Spec of new chip (according to package):

512MB DDR 400 PC3200 non-ECC (single-sided, 8 chips on 184-pin module brand Integral). As far as I can tell, that's the same as the old one.

I opened the machine, put the new RAM chip into the second slot and started machine.

BSOD. Panicked (stupid, but I was tired) and failed to make a proper note of the error message - after years of shouting at others for not doing so!

Re-booted. Screen blank.

Re-booted, got it to respond to F8, and told it to go to Safe Mode. Got as far as a graphics driver and then stopped.

Repeat a couple of times, with similar results.