Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

My computer doesn't shut down (properly, as it should)


  • Please log in to reply

#16
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
I did clean both fans with the air can and also restored the windows to default factory settings. The new rreadings from speedfan are attached.


Both Core and GPU seem to be stable around 58/59 C
I guess it is an improvment from 64 C

I havent tried shutting it down to see if the problem is fixed or not

Attached Thumbnails

  • speedfan.JPG

  • 0

Advertisements


#17
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
A little better but still not right.
Try the following:

Download and install EVEREST Free Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"


Look on the left pane and see if you can find the Sensors
Click on it and in the right pane copy and paste the info in your next reply.
  • 0

#18
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

A little better but still not right.
Try the following:

Download and install EVEREST Free Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"


Look on the left pane and see if you can find the Sensors
Click on it and in the right pane copy and paste the info in your next reply.


Here is the quick report summary:

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer SHAIKHFAMILY
Generator Compaq_Administrator
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2009-08-11
Time 15:00


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name SHAIKHFAMILY
User Name Compaq_Administrator

Motherboard:
CPU Type Unknown, 2400 MHz
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 1024 MB
BIOS Type Award (06/30/06)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS (512 MB)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (F6EY69035263U)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Realtek HD Audio rear output

Storage:
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Disk Drive WDC WD2500JS-60NCB1 (232 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive LITE-ON DVDRW SHM-165H6S
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 229679 MB (210683 MB free)
D: (FAT32) 8776 MB (553 MB free)
Total Size 232.9 GB (206.3 GB free)

Input:
Keyboard Enhanced Mulmedia PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Network:
Network Adapter NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller (192.168.0.103)
Modem Data Fax SoftModem with SmartCP

Peripherals:
Printer Fax
Printer Quicken PDF Printer
USB1 Controller Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller [NoDB]
USB2 Controller Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller [NoDB]
USB Device Generic USB Hub
USB Device USB Printing Support

Problems & Suggestions:
Problem Disk free space is only 6% on drive D:.


And here is the report from the sensors:

--------[ Sensor ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sensor Properties:
Sensor Type HDD
GPU Sensor Type Driver (NV-DRV)

Temperatures:
CPU 40 C (104 F)
GPU 59 C (138 F)
WDC WD2500JS-60NCB1 50 C (122 F)
  • 0

#19
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I'm beginning to believe we are dealing with a MOBO problem or a PSU problem.
Before I say for sure, do you have your original XP installation disk?
  • 0

#20
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
I'm not sure about the xp installation one, i do have a few others which i got. let me see which ones i have and i will let you know
  • 0

#21
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You are going to need XP since that is what you have installed on your system.
  • 0

#22
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
well I have 2 recovery cds from geeksquad. I have another that says diagnostics cd and another that says microsoft recovery tools

but no xp cd

Also, after the recent restore, the computer does sometimes shutdown properly
  • 0

#23
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
i did take it to a repair shop and told him the story. He said that from what i told him, he thinks its the motherboard. Is it hard to replace a motherboard?
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Replacing a MOBO is not difficult. You can go HERE and get step by step instructions including pics.
This tutorial was done by one of GTG own techs and is probably the best I have ever seen to help anyone build their own system.
Just scroll down to the section on installing the MOBO and follow along.
  • 0

#25
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
i looked online on how to diagnose a bad motherbaord and it said i should disconnect everything from the motherboard (vid. card, network card, hard drive, cd-rom, etc...) and then see if it has power.

And when i plugged it in, i did see the fan spinning and was pretty sure it had power

Now i'm starting to think it maybe the Power supply because my computer is back to "no signal to monitor"
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That error has nothing to do with PSU unless the video card is a add on and there is not enough power to run the card.
From the specs on your system the video is onboard.
Have you tried a different monitor?
  • 0

#27
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
when i first installed the vid. card it worked fine. but after a few days, its back to "no signal to monitor"

I did try a different monitor a while back, but i'll try one with the new vid. card, although i'm pretty sure thats not the problem.

You see, when my computer turn on "normally", the fan at first spins loudly, and then quiets down. This is when there is a signal to the monitor and everythings fine.

However, when the fan keeps spinning loudly, then there is no signal to the monitor. I have found this to be correct 100% of the time since i'v been experiencing this problem.

But i guess it wouldn't hurt just to diagnose the PSU with a multimeter. I found the instructions here:

http://www.lockergno...upply-problems/

Edited by jadi929, 20 August 2009 - 05:10 PM.

  • 0

#28
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It could be the PSU is failing.
How old is it and do you know what wattage it is?
  • 0

#29
TimCHills

TimCHills

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
The Aug 9 picture shows the CPU heatsink packed with dust, which you said you blew out of there. Did you also blow out the Power Supply and everything else for that matter?
  • 0

#30
jadi929

jadi929

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
I'm not sure about the wattage of the PSU, but its around 2 and a half years (maybe 3)


TimCHills: Yes, i did blow out the PSU from the back where the fan is and pretty much the whole cpu.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP