Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Wireless Netgear WG111 fails to connect on restarting Windows

• Please log in to reply

jeremygex

jeremygex

• PipPip
  • 45 posts
Equipment
* Chillblast Fusion Sentinel Desktop PC using Windows XP Pro Service Pack 3
* Netgear DG834GT Router & Netgear WG111 Wireless 54Mbps USB 2.0 Adapter

I am very new to wireless technology so please forgive my naivety. Here's how I set up my wireless network.

1. Went to Netgear Router Settings page (using Opera browser).
a) Went to Wireless Settings, entered SSID.
b) Went to Security Options and chose WPA-PSK+WPA2-PSK

2. Went to Windows Control Panel + Wireless Network Setup Wizard
a) Chose to manually assign a network key
b) It asked for a WEP key. There was no option for WPA2-PSK. I entered my WPA2-PSK password (i.e. the same password as entered on the Netgear Router settings page).

3. Installed WG111 using Netgear CD and went to Netgear WG111v3 Smart Wizard
a) Chose my network SSID
b) Entered encryption password

4. After the wireless connection has been established I disconnect the ADSL cable from my router to my PC. The wireless USB 2.0 Adapter is 2 metres away from the router, and the strong signal varies from 95% to 100%!

I have been having internet speed and connection problems, so I have to reboot my router on several occasions during each internet session (using wireless connection).