Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Internet Explorer has encountered a problem


  • Please log in to reply

#1
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
I have the following errors on both trying to run Internet Explorer, or Windows Restore. Haven't found it on anything else yet.

(program) has encountered a problem and needs to close.

error signature
EventType : InPageError P1 : c000009c P2 : 00000003

error report contents
C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER544a.dir00\rstrui.exe.mdmp
C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER544a.dir00\appcompat.txt


This is my mothers computer I am trying to fix for her. It is a Gateway (GT4016 AMD 64 2.21GHz 896MB Ram) with Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

also - Firefox works fine

Edited by shinejah, 10 August 2009 - 05:46 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download WhoCrashed from the link in my signature below
This program checks for any drivers which may have been causing your computer to crash....

Click on the file you just downloaded and run it.
Put a tick in Accept then click on Next
Put a tick in the Don't create a start menu folder then click Next
Put a tick in Create a Desktop Icon then click on Install and make sure there is a tick in Launch Whocrashed before clicking Finish
Click Analyze
It will want to download the Debugger and install it Say Yes

WhoCrashed will create report but you have to scroll down to see it
Copy and paste it into your next reply
  • 0

#3
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Thank you for the quick response. I will perform the scan/test tomorrow afternoon and post then as I am not with the computer right now.
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Sorry for such a long response time.
Thank you for the update and we will continue to monitor this topic for your response.
  • 0

#5
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
sorry for the delay.


Analysis
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash dump directory: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump

Crash dumps are enabled on your computer.


No crash dumps have been found on your computer


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash dumps are enabled and no crash dumps have been found on your computer. In case your computer does experience sudden reboots it is likely these are caused by malfunctioning hardware or power failure. Then it's suggested you contact the support department of the manufacturer of your system or test your system with a memory test utility for further investigation.




sorry for the delay.
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to know location.
7: Attach to your next reply.


Also try downloading FireFox from my signature below and see if that works. If it does then we know you have a issue with IE.
  • 0

#7
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Firefox works without any known issues.

I have attached the Autoruns.txt file

Attached Files


  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:


+ InCD
+ NeroFilterCheck
+ Recguard (GTG Does not advise to use any registry tool)
+ SecurDisc
+ Adobe Reade (Suggest to uninstall this and install FoxIt instead)
+ updateMgr

The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:


Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:


Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.



Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

Let em know if IE works after this.
  • 0

#9
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
I followed all your instructions.
still getting the same error message when trying to run IE.
on the positive side, the computer is running a little smoother now :-)
If I try and use the IE tab addon from firefox it also freezes.

here is the error text from firefox

Add-ons: {77b819fa-95ad-4f2c-ac7c-486b356188a9}:1.5.20090207,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.01,moveplayer@movenetworks.com:1.0.0.071101000055,{20a82645-c095-46ed-80e3-08825760534b}:1.0,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.0.13
BuildID: 2009073022
CrashTime: 1250198386
InstallTime: 1249501116
ProductName: Firefox
SecondsSinceLastCrash: 255742
StartupTime: 1250198258
Theme: classic/1.0
URL: chrome://ietab/content/reloaded.html?url=http://zradio.org/index/schedule/
Vendor: Mozilla
Version: 3.0.13

This report also contains technical information about the state of the application when it crashed.

Edited by shinejah, 13 August 2009 - 03:20 PM.

  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try running IE with no add on's
This will tell us if it is something we can uninstall or have to start with a different approach.

To disable add-ons in Internet Explorer 8

1. Open Internet Explorer by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, and then clicking Internet Explorer.
2. Click the Tools button, and then click Manage Add-ons.
3. Under Show, click All add-ons.
4. Click the add-on you want to disable, and then click Disable.
5. Repeat step 4 for every add-on to disable. When you are finished, click Close.

Now restart IE and retry IE as before. Let us know if it still happens or not. If not then try enabling one add on at a time and trying IE again till you find the problem.
Most times the cause will be a toolbar add on.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Well, It appears to run for about 10 sec. longer with no add ons, but I'm still getting the same error. The details of the error are different. not sure if that is significant.

C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER721e.dir00\iexplore.exe.mdmp
C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER721e.dir00\appcompat.txt

I had to access IE without add ons through the system tools menu because IE will not stay running long enough for me to alter the settings in the program.
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What version of IE?
  • 0

#13
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Am I able to determine if I'm unable to open the program?
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yes do the following:

Download SIW from HERE and get the Standalone English version
It will install itself and when finished
Then Click on SIW Icon to run program
On the left side click on Applications then scroll down to Internet Explorer
On the right, Product Version and that will give you the information
  • 0

#15
shinejah

shinejah

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
version 7

Property Value
Internet Explorer

Original Filename IEXPLORE.EXE
Internal Name iexplore
File Version 7.00.6000.16876(vista_gdr.090625-2339) (7.0.6000.16876)
Product Version 7.00.6000.16876 (7.0.6000.16876)
Company Name Microsoft Corporation
File Description Internet Explorer
Copyright © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Product Name Windows® Internet Explorer
File Name iexplore.exe
File Path C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\
File Attributes Normal
Creation Time 2006-11-21, 02:59:31
Last Write Time 2009-06-29, 08:35:10
File Size 634632 Bytes (619.776 KBytes)


DisplayName Windows Internet Explorer 7
TSAware 1
NoModify 1
InstallDate 20080725
Publisher Microsoft Corporation
NoRepair 1
HelpLink http://www.microsoft.com/ie
URLInfoAbout http://www.microsoft.com/ie
DisplayVersion 20070813.185237
DisplayIcon C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
NoRemove 1


Other Info:
Internet Explorer
Version 7.0.5730.13
Digital Product Id FGHVY-WGD2D-GDTF9-B9QW7-BBVH6
Product Id 92318-600-0011903-00806
Update Versions 0

Edited by shinejah, 15 August 2009 - 12:57 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP