Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Urgent problem

• Please log in to reply

Page59

Page59

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi, I'm new to this so here goes, I am a novice when it comes to computers and I stupidly altered a few things. Basically my laptop is stuck in safe mode. The operating system (windows vista home basic) was already installed. According to the booklet supplied, if I press F8 I enter 'Advanced Boot Options'. On doing this a list of options appears. From this list it says to choose 'Repair Your Computer' this option is not listed! The only way I can use the system is if I select 'Directory Service Restore Mode'. Once the system has started I am able to use the internet ok, but have some difficulty accessing files. I am also unable to use my printer so have somehow effected some Drivers apparently. I didn't receive a disc with the system. Have tried the Backup disc Tech Guys Backup but no joy. Can anyone help to sort this for me? Is there anyway I could run system recovery from the hard drive. Be eternally grateful, and please make it easy enough for an idiot like myself to understand.
Thanks
Page59.

Advertisements

SalomonXM

SalomonXM

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
Hi Page59,

Some Computers (such as HP) now do not include Recovery Disc with the computers they sell; however, there is a way for you to create this Recovery Disc. Please refer to the manual on how to create it.

For HP Desktops/Laptops: Start -> All Programs -> Recovery Manager -> Recovery Disc Creation.