Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Sleep/Shutdown Causes Computer to Restart


  • Please log in to reply

#31
rev_olie

rev_olie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 532 posts
Hi,
Sorry for the delay :)

Just to let you know im going to ask another member for some advice on were to go next.
I'm sure it would have something to do with that file but it's whether im going in the wrong direction or not.

Just hang in there for a bit :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ DELL Webcam Manager
+ dellsupportcenter
+ iTunesHelper
+ QuickTime Task
+ SunJavaUpdateSched
+ Windows Defender (You have AVG no need for this.Running two AV's is not good)
+ WMPNSCFG


When done restart computer and then:


Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.



Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

Please provide the following info also.
Total Memory
Hd total and free space

Lets see what you have in your startup
Please click on
Start and then on Run
Type in msconfig and then press Enter
Now click on Startup
Next click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start
All Programs
Accessories
Paint

In the empty white area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save As
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your desktop

In your next reply attach the screenshot.

Lets see what you have in your startup services area

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Services
Click on the Hide All Microsoft Services

Do a screenshot like above and attach it also.
  • 0

#33
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
Alright. Here we go.

Defrag Results

Disk Size 285.50 GB
Free Space Size 155.67 GB
Clusters 74841342
Sectors per cluster 8
Bytes per sector 512
Started defragmentation at 8/21/2009 8:26:43 AM
Completed defragmentation at 8/21/2009 9:19:32 AM
Elapsed time 00:52:49
Total Files 133701
Total Directories 24179
Fragmented Files 718
Defragmented Files 713
Skipped Files 5
Fragmentation Before 14.92% ||||||||
Fragmentation After 3.17% ||

Temp File Clean-up

Temp Cleanup Complete!
-Freed 950.841 MB in 3909 files.
-Drive C:\ now has 155.695 GB free.

Services

Posted Image
Posted Image

Start Up (Minus Windows Services)

Posted Image
Posted Image

Un-checked from Auto Runs

+ DELL Webcam Manager
+ dellsupportcenter
+ iTunesHelper
+ QuickTime Task
+ SunJavaUpdateSched
+ Windows Defender
+ WMPNSCFG

Total Memory/HD Total and Free Space

4.0 GB Memory
285.5 GB Capacity
155.67 Free Space



A.X.

Edited by AgentXu, 21 August 2009 - 10:38 AM.

  • 0

#34
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Did you take the screenshots of the MsConfig startups before the autoruns step was done?
I see a lot of entries that we disabled in autoruns still checked.
  • 0

#35
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
I double checked. I went through Auto Runs and made sure all seven were unchecked. I missed I-tunes helper and the thing that connects my computer with my X-box (though I was certain I had checked those two things too.) Oh well. So, unchecked everything re-ran Auto runs and took new screen captures of the Start up. Here they are.


Posted Image
Posted Image

Upon restarting and running Auto Runs it looks like this:
Posted Image



A.X.
  • 0

#36
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
Update

The problem seems to have been corrected. I've shut down the computer a few times and re-started it. Putting it to sleep and turning it off no longer seem to be an issue. I'm a little reticent to say the issue is resolved since it has been temporarily corrected in the past. I have a few lingering questions.

1.) What did we do? What was causing that to happen that we changed? And... what did we change?

2.) Does the api.mybrowserbar.com have anything to do with it? What was that?

And 3.) should I be worried about the error entries listed as critical that we found earlier in the event viewer relating to the Wireless card and its drivers?

Updated Update

Never mind... the problem remains. I waited a little while, clicked sleep and it re-started the computer. I had a fear that's what would happen.

A.X.

Edited by AgentXu, 21 August 2009 - 10:03 PM.

  • 0

#37
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
api.mybrowserbar.com could be another infection
Most likely a browser hijack.
If this is still showing up I think another trip to the Malware Forum may be in order.
This time in topic put this file in the title.
I just cannot see anything else causing the problem.
  • 0

#38
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
So you think an infection could be causing my computer to not be able to sleep or shutdown? My computer is functioning perfectly normally with no signs of any sort of infection except for the api.mybrowserbar.com when the ability is temporarily restored.



A.X.
  • 0

#39
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The symptom I see that this file causes is when you type in a address in your browser it comes up with the name api.mybrowserbar.com
Is this the case?
I also think we may need to do a repair installation in the end but I'm hoping that will fix the problem.
  • 0

#40
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
So the time line goes like this:

I re-installed the Nvidia Drivers and it caused api.mybrowserbar.com to show up.
I followed rev's instructions and deleted BCM42RLY and api.mybrowserbar.com showed up.
I loaded windows in Diagnostic mode and api.mybrowser.com showed up.

After each of these incidents, sleep/shut down was restored. In order to get my web browser to work properly again I re-started. The api thing went away after the re-start in each case. Upon doing so the sleep/shut down function would work for a few hours and then, when I would try to put the computer to sleep, it would re-start the computer.

I've already taken the steps listed Here (for the most part) and I haven't turned anything up. I've also sent my computer back to a restore point to the very day my computer was given a clean bill of health and the problem remained. So since the api.mybrowserbar.com doesn't re-direct me (rather just prevent me from surfing the web) unless I mess with something and the computer doesn't have any symptoms I can detect (like lots of processes running or super high memory usage or anything like that) I don't really think the sleep/shutdown issue is infection related.



A.X.

Edited by AgentXu, 22 August 2009 - 09:17 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#41
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I would agree based on the timeline you are stating the shutdown problem is not infection related.
Browser is most likely related to the api problem..
At this point it could be a hardware issue as in MOBO.
I may have seen but forgot is this a name brand system?
Do you have the original installation disk or is a recovery disk?
  • 0

#42
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
This is a Dell M1530. I do have the original instillation disk. It is also worth noting that I've fought a long hard battle against an infection that required the use of a bunch of different tools. The thread is Here. We did so much it is likely through the process of removal we busted something. This computer is only a few months old. If it is a motherboard issue or something hardware related I can call Dell and they'll replace it but I'm going to need to make sure that is what it is and that I can explain how I know it.


A.X.

Edited by AgentXu, 22 August 2009 - 09:23 PM.

  • 0

#43
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well at this point i see only two options
  • Backup data and reload system to factory defaults
  • Replace the MOBO

Now the first one would take the system back to factory defaults and if the problem still happens then you could say with 99.9% assurance that the MOBO is the problem.
  • 0

#44
AgentXu

AgentXu

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
Well, since I'm relatively certain the Mother board isn't faulty (Dell already replaced it once during my virus scare), restoring the computer to factory defaults is Dell's go-to response to problems that always have a better solution, and the problem has been temporarily fixed three separate times I'm going to respectfully ask for another opinion since we haven't really done anything except run Auto Runs and disable programs from the Start-up. Even Googling this problem turned up more suggestions.



A.X.

Edited by AgentXu, 23 August 2009 - 02:20 PM.

  • 0

#45
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Let's start over, and one step at a time.
api.mybrowserbar.com is definitely a threat. It belongs to pdfforge Toolbar: http://www.threatexp...6a0f7e69c87714f

Please, go back to malware forum, and re-check your computer.
When it's clean once again, please, return back here, and we'll pursue next options.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP