Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Can't find Drivers

• Please log in to reply

Tahim79

Tahim79

• PipPip
  • 69 posts
Hello,

My brother's cpu had a lot of junk on it and was filled up with viruses, so I decided to re-format it for him.
But now I've been at it for 3 days trying to find drivers.
He has a HP Pavilion a1320.
I'm just new to this so please bare with me if my statements don't make any sense.

Thank you for your time.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Go HERE and select your OS system.
From there it should take you to all the original drivers for the system.
Let us know how this works for you.

Tahim79

Tahim79

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
Thankyou for the reply

I was there. That was the first place I checked.
What i did was a fresh install of xp pro sp2, which then updated to a sp3.
I tried as many as I could. I just don't know what else to do.
I have no sound,
there are yellow question marks by
Audio device on high definition audio bus
PCI simple Communications contoller
SM bus controller
unknown device

The only driver that worked from that site was the VGA Controller.

Am I doing something wrong?
Is there another way to get drivers from another cpu?
I've tried these device detective apps and other finding apps but nothing is working for me

Thank you

makai

makai

Portlock - Oahu

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,793 posts
The correct way to install drivers on a new install is...

Install the OS
Install the SM Bus controller driver (CHIPSET DRIVER)
Install all other drivers in any order.