Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows Xp error messages and more!


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Drive C is the WD drive
Try Seatools it may work on the older WD drives.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
Ok, I used the Seatools, and memtest. Both checked out fine. My Everest results are on the first page.
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Do you have your Genuine Microsoft XP cd?
  • 0

#19
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
Yes I do. Do you think I should reinstall XP?
  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is this a name brand system?
If so the system disk will be a Recovery cd and a Repair Installation may not be possible.
  • 0

#21
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
No wait I take that back. I don't have one. Sorry about that.

Edited by Sickness335, 20 August 2009 - 06:18 PM.

  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

Is this a name brand system?
If so the system disk will be a Recovery cd and a Repair Installation may not be possible.


  • 0

#23
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
So, are you saying that (sorry if I sound angry or anything) I need to reinstall windows Xp to solve this restarting problem?
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No what I am trying to do is do a Repair Installation
This would keep your Data safe.
A format and new install is always the last resort.
You will need a Xp cd of the same type you have (Home or Pro)
As long as the version installed on your system is Genuine and a Retail version we should be ok.
If it is a burned copy we will have problems.
  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
There is also another option and that is as follows.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
The system checker worked, and I didn't need a CD or anything. It didn't find any errors, and it closed.
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is the system still crashing?
Is the headphones still connected?
  • 0

#28
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
It hasn't crashed yet at all, and the headset is still connected. I bet it was that port I had the Headset connected to that screwed up everything. And that out of date video card. Thank you soooo much man! I had that problem since last February. Thank you =)

If I have another problem I'll message you or I'll reply on this thread.

Again THANK YOU!! :) :) :) :)

Edited by Sickness335, 20 August 2009 - 10:51 PM.

  • 0

#29
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Congratulations. :) for a successful resolution for your issue. I am happy everything has been worked out for you. With that being said I am happy to say:


You are very welcome. I'm glad we could help and please let us know how everything works out for you.
If there is anything else we can do to help please feel free to ask. I appreciate that you allowed me to assist you with your issue and for your patience. Thank you for choosing GeeksToGo for help. :) :)
This issue now appears to be resolved.


If other members are reading this and have a similar problem please begin a New Topic and someone will assist you as soon as possible
  • 0

#30
Sickness335

Sickness335

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
Just when you think the problem is solved...

I was playing Combat arms before, and my computer gave me blue screen of death.... This time, with this:

This was likely caused by the following module: nv4_disp.dll
Bugcheck code: 0x1000008E (0xC0000005, 0xBD1B206B, 0xB191EA9C, 0x0)
Error: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\nv4_disp.dll
product: NVIDIA Compatible Windows 2000 Display driver, Version 190.38
company: NVIDIA Corporation
description: NVIDIA Compatible Windows 2000 Display driver, Version 190.38
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP