Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Hard drive wiped

• Please log in to reply

your desired display name

• Pip
  • 2 posts
One of my friends thought it would be funny if he wiped my hard drive (I'm still kicking myself for not ever backing anything up). He used the recovery (restore?) disk that came with my laptop when I got it about 3 years ago. It's pretty much as if I'd just bought it. I have a subscription to a PC magazine, and there was this one article about useful programs or something, and one of the programs they talked about was a program that basically overwrote your hard drive with 0s repeatedly until there was no hope at all of recovering anything from it, and it usually took 6-7 overwrites to make data unrecoverable. Also, I read somewhere that when files are deleted, they're actually marked as inaccessible and overwriteable. It is these 2 things that give me hope that I might one day get my data back.

So my question to you, fine geeks, is this:
How do I get my data back?

Advertisements

Wander

Wander

• PipPipPip
  • 205 posts
There's data recovery software available to do that job.
Here's one:
Recuva

You may be able to recover some of your data but not all of it - if your looking for a particular file type (e.g. a .doc file) you can specify only to look for these.
But for whole programs I do not think you can bring them back.

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
There is NO WAY that I know that you will be able to recover 100% of your data.