Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Lapping your heatsink?

• Please log in to reply

L.Martofel

L.Martofel

• PipPip
  • 69 posts
While perusing several different computer parts retailers, I came across this. Now, I'm no expert in thermodynamics, but I do know a thing or two about heat and heat transfer. I understand that it is necessary to have as much contact with both surfaces for efficient heat transfer, but if you have 2 mirrored finishes, doesn't that diminish the use of a thermal paste? Now, with small grooves or light scratches in the surface, that gives something for the thermal paste to get into. It also increases surface area. Think about Souffle bowls for a minute. The really good ones are fluted to increase surface area. More surface area gives a better heat transfer. Now, I'm not saying that you should have gouges in your CPU/Heatsink, since thermal compound isn't as efficient as actual full on contact, but wouldn't teeny tiny scratches be a bit more beneficial to two mirrored surfaces?

Maybe I'm wrong. I don't know. That's why I'm posting this.

Advertisements

Murray S.

Murray S.

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Howdy:

Going to revert to my firefighter training here. :)

To answer your question, no. The gouges, scratches allow for air to be trapped. Air is an insulating material. Although heat can/will transfer through air, it is much less efficient than direct contact.

Murray

L.Martofel