Obviously, you can't access two drives at the same time using the same drive letter. So, what I usually do now, just before connecting the external hard drive, I unmap the network drive. Then when I disconnect the external drive, I remap the network drive as Y:
Is there any way, however, that I can set Windows (XP Home SP3) so that I won't have to unmap/remap the network drive? Meaning anytime I connect the external drive, it will automatically "overtake" the network drive as Y:? And then when I unplug the external drive, the network drive would automatically go back to being Y:?