Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

ZoneAlarm 5.5.094.000 update didn’t work

• Please log in to reply

docboardman

docboardman

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Operating System = Windows 98
AntiVirus = AVG (recently updated)
Antispyware = SpywareGuard
Firewall = Well – nothing now . . .

I have been using ZoneAlarm (Free Version) for several years and operating Windows 98. Upgrades have always gone well. I did the last upgrade to 5.5.062.011 in Feb '05.

Just spent the last three days trying to get the 5.5.094.000 upgrade to work and I get two error messages:

First message:
Could not load the DLL library C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\kernel32.dll. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format.

When I press OK, I get the second message:
Could not load the DLL library C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\vsutil.dll. One of the library files needed to run this application cannot be found.

Then the installation stops.

I have looked over what I can find on the internet about this problem and tried several things. To summarise what I have tried:

1. I tried re-downloading the 5.5.094.000 file several times. None of these worked.

2. I tried to sort out any potential problem with certificates using the regsvr32 /u command in the command mode to uninstall them, rebooting, reinstalling them and rebooting. That didn't work.

3. I went to the Verisign site and tried reloading certificates plus went to WindowsUpdate and downloaded a program to repair the root certificates. ZoneAlarm would still not install.