Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC Appearing to shut down after playing games.


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Judeah

Judeah

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello Everyone,

I am new, but as I was searching for this issue, kept bringing me to these forums, so I decided to bring up my issue here. Lately my computer has been shutting down (Or appears to be shutting down). My Monitor resets and I don't see my PC running on my Monitor, so I assume it shut down. This appears to occur with certain games, but lately one of the games that it doesn't occur on, started to show this issue. Only game I can play now for more then 15 minutes now is CoD4.

I originally thought it was just too much dust inside my Case, so I took a can of compressed airs and blown all the Dust away. But issue still seems to appear.

I checked on my UPS and it says it is currently stopped, but I know nothing much about it, so I am not messing with it.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rev_olie

rev_olie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 532 posts
Hi Judeah

Welcome to GeeksToGo :)

When you say you think it has shut down, if you put your ear to the PC can you hear it doing anything?
For example can you hear any fans blowing.
Also once it appears to have shut down is you move your mouse or press any keys does it do anything?
  • 0

#3
Judeah

Judeah

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Hi Judeah

Welcome to GeeksToGo :)

When you say you think it has shut down, if you put your ear to the PC can you hear it doing anything?
For example can you hear any fans blowing.
Also once it appears to have shut down is you move your mouse or press any keys does it do anything?


Yeah, I do still hear the fans running. I took another can of compressed air, because I noticed a lot of Dust on my GFX card. Moving my mouse does nothing, nothing appears on my monitor.

I opened my case to see if I got all the dust out, and noticed I still had quite a bit of dust bunnies in my case, so I cleared that out. And trying it out now.

Wish Cases had Dust Filters
  • 0

#4
rev_olie

rev_olie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 532 posts

I opened my case to see if I got all the dust out, and noticed I still had quite a bit of dust bunnies in my case, so I cleared that out. And trying it out now.

Wish Cases had Dust Filters


Ok let me know how that goes. Heat is usually the number one cause so it will most probably help. Just makes sure its turned off when you use the air.
Also a fact most people look over, when using compressed air on your case fans, always hold the fan and never let it spin. If you make it spin fast enough you can actually create small amouts of static electricity which can cause harm to your machine.

Also can you follow the instructions below if the PC still shuts itself down:

Please can you download and install Everest from HERE
Once its installed (leave all of the options just keep pressing next) double click on the shortcut.
Then once its running:
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post

Don't include anything under the line "DEBUG- PCI"

The attached picture can be used for reference

Also in Everest please Click the + sign next to Computer on the left hand side and click on Sensors. Please tell me what it says in there. Thanks

Attached Thumbnails

  • Everest.jpg

Edited by rev_olie, 14 September 2009 - 12:49 PM.

  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

Wish Cases had Dust Filters


Some of the newer cases actually do have filters on the fans.
I have always wondered this myself as a intake fan would be pulling dust and hair into the case at all time.
It only makes sense to have filters on the intake fans. I just cannot figure out what took case manufacturers so long to figure this simple step out.
  • 0

#6
rev_olie

rev_olie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 532 posts

Wish Cases had Dust Filters


Some of the newer cases actually do have filters on the fans.
I have always wondered this myself as a intake fan would be pulling dust and hair into the case at all time.
It only makes sense to have filters on the intake fans. I just cannot figure out what took case manufacturers so long to figure this simple step out.

Indeed I have a HAF 922 case with the front intake fan and bottom mounted PSU with intake filters but I do wonder also what took them so long. Possibly a cost issue
  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
For a couple of extra dollars you would think the manufacturers would have included that years ago.
Vacuums have used Heppa Filters for years and they don't get the use of a average computer system.
It just has to be someone not thinking ahead. I am glad they do it now as it will surely keep the inside cleaner and thus the cooling will work better.
  • 0

#8
Judeah

Judeah

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

I opened my case to see if I got all the dust out, and noticed I still had quite a bit of dust bunnies in my case, so I cleared that out. And trying it out now.

Wish Cases had Dust Filters


Ok let me know how that goes. Heat is usually the number one cause so it will most probably help. Just makes sure its turned off when you use the air.
Also a fact most people look over, when using compressed air on your case fans, always hold the fan and never let it spin. If you make it spin fast enough you can actually create small amouts of static electricity which can cause harm to your machine.

Also can you follow the instructions below if the PC still shuts itself down:

Please can you download and install Everest from HERE
Once its installed (leave all of the options just keep pressing next) double click on the shortcut.
Then once its running:
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post

Don't include anything under the line "DEBUG- PCI"

The attached picture can be used for reference

Also in Everest please Click the + sign next to Computer on the left hand side and click on Sensors. Please tell me what it says in there. Thanks


Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer OWNER-PC
Generator Owner
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2009-09-14
Time 15:57


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name OWNER-PC
User Name Owner

Motherboard:
CPU Type 2x , 2400 MHz (7 x 343)
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 3072 MB
BIOS Type AMI (03/06/08)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GX2 (512 MB)
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GX2 (512 MB)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (H9FQ314373)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Realtek HD Audio output

Storage:
IDE Controller IntelŽ ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2921
IDE Controller IntelŽ ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive WDC WD10EACS-00C7B0 (931 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-H653A
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 953859 MB (628461 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse Microsoft PS/2 Mouse
Game Controller Microsoft PC-joystick driver

Network:
Network Adapter Hamachi Network Interface - AVG miniport driver (5.45.195.134)
Network Adapter Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (192.168.1.66)

Peripherals:
Printer AGFA-AccuSet v52.3
Printer EPSON Stylus Photo RX595 Series
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
USB1 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2934 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2935 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2936 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2937 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2938 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2939 [NoDB]
USB2 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 293A [NoDB]
USB2 Controller IntelŽ ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 293C [NoDB]
USB Device Generic USB Hub
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device

These are my sensor result, my GPU is really hot, but the temp is lowering really slowly.


Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type HDD (ISA 290h)
GPU Sensor Type Driver (NV-DRV)

Temperatures
Motherboard 52 °C (126 °F)
GPU 99 °C (210 °F)
WDC WD10EACS-00C7B0 34 °C (93 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 2766 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 2.29 V
Aux 3.49 V
+3.3 V 3.25 V
+5 V 5.46 V
+12 V 7.66 V
-12 V -11.63 V
-5 V -3.01 V
Debug Info F FF F4 FF
Debug Info T 52 00 00
Debug Info V 8F DA CB CB 7E D1 7D (03)

Also you guys got examples of cases with dust filters? Rather try that then constantly having to clean out my case of dust.

Edited by Judeah, 14 September 2009 - 05:06 PM.

  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
GPU 99 °C (210 °F)

Oh lordy this is burning up.


Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows. The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard.
  • It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
  • Now go to Start and then to All Programs
  • Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
  • In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
  • Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
  • Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop
  • Attach it to your next reply

Posted Image
  • 0

#10
Judeah

Judeah

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Attached Thumbnails

  • Speedfan_image.jpg

  • 0

#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If this is after cleaning the system out then you still have a heat problem.
  • 0

#12
Judeah

Judeah

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Its been months since I last reformatted my PC.
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Formatted?
I was asking after you clean the inside out and the temperatures still being high?
  • 0

#14
Judeah

Judeah

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Oh, yes temp is still high, but not in the 90's anymore, in the 70's. Still high though
  • 0

#15
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
is your power supply on this list here...The following is a list of power supplies which have been tested to work on NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 9800 GX2. These power supplies meet the requirements for power rating, have at least one 6-pin and one 8-pin PCI Express power connector
do you have another video card you could try...
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP